5,600,919 Members 42,835 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Backups not restoring...

Tip us?
 
topcat888
Old
#11  
topcat888's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 150
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcat888 View Post
Hi, I assume it's Knox 0x1 as I have rooted and custom recovery'ed it, how do you tell..??
Ok, after going through every single folder, I have now found a folder under Data/Media/clockworkmod/ which contains amongst other things another folder called backup, that had 3 backups in it, amounting to 8.27GB data..!

Now I have deleted those (as I have other CWM backups on the ext/sd) and I have some room to move again but my question is now, can I somehow reset the phone (not ext/sd) and all of it's contents completely back to stock, CWM has messed things up a bit with 1970 folder/file dates all over the place..??
 
jd1639
Old
#12  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2259
Posts: 7,423
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcat888 View Post
Ok, after going through every single folder, I have now found a folder under Data/Media/clockworkmod/ which contains amongst other things another folder called backup, that had 3 backups in it, amounting to 8.27GB data..!

Now I have deleted those (as I have other CWM backups on the ext/sd) and I have some room to move again but my question is now, can I somehow reset the phone (not ext/sd) and all of it's contents completely back to stock, CWM has messed things up a bit with 1970 folder/file dates all over the place..??
That's the main reason I don't like cwm, too many blob folders to make manually cleaning then up easy.

I don't know the i9505 that well but if there is an odin flashable tar file of your current firmware I'd flash that. Then do a factory reset in the stock recovery. That will return your device to like new. You will lose all your apps and data so backup anything you want to keep before you do this
 
topcat888
Old
#13  
topcat888's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 150
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
That's the main reason I don't like cwm, too many blob folders to make manually cleaning then up easy.

I don't know the i9505 that well but if there is an odin flashable tar file of your current firmware I'd flash that. Then do a factory reset in the stock recovery. That will return your device to like new. You will lose all your apps and data so backup anything you want to keep before you do this
yes, that's exactly what I was thinking I might have to do... Any ideas/directions as to where the 'odin flashable file of XXUEMK8' would be, I've looked in the i9505 forum but can't find it..?
 
jd1639
Old
#14  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2259
Posts: 7,423
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcat888 View Post
yes, that's exactly what I was thinking I might have to do... Any ideas/directions as to where the 'odin flashable file of XXUEMK8' would be, I've looked in the i9505 forum but can't find it..?
Check on sammobile.com. you'll have to register but it's free. You'll down load a zip file. Use 7-zip to extract the .tar.md5 file from it. Use that in Odin
 
topcat888
Old
#15  
topcat888's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 150
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Check on sammobile.com. you'll have to register but it's free. You'll down load a zip file. Use 7-zip to extract the .tar.md5 file from it. Use that in Odin
Thanks, I searched for i9505 but there is a firmware for every country except the UK or MK8 listed ..?
 
jd1639
Old
#16  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2259
Posts: 7,423
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by topcat888 View Post
Thanks, I searched for i9505 but there is a firmware for every country except the UK or MK8 listed ..?
Looks like there is an mk8 for UK btu. Not sure what carrier you're on
 
Conito11
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 237
Join Date: Feb 2013
You have to enable selinux enforcing to make nandroid backups. Philz recovery can do that.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9505
 
topcat888
Old
#18  
topcat888's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 150
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Looks like there is an mk8 for UK btu. Not sure what carrier you're on
Oh, I couldn't see it..? The phone is unbranded but I use O2...
 
topcat888
Old
#19  
topcat888's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 150
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conito11 View Post
You have to enable selinux enforcing to make nandroid backups. Philz recovery can do that.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9505
Where can I read more about that..?
 
Conito11
Old
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 237
Join Date: Feb 2013
Don't know. .. Flash Philz recovery and enable that setting, then make nandroid.

Enviado desde mi GT-I9505

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more