5,606,409 Members 33,346 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC ONE Sim problem?

Tip us?
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Default HTC ONE Sim problem?

Hey XDA, I was wondering if any of you guys still experience the problem where the sim does not come in contact with the pins inside the phone. I have tried the tape fix a few times with a few different sims (that all work on my s4) but no good. I was wondering if anyone has any good fixes before I have to send it out to HTC. Also, if anyone has sent their phone to HTC, how much does it cost? Thanks
 
JasSingh93
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lincoln
Quote:
Originally Posted by O-rangePeels View Post
Hey XDA, I was wondering if any of you guys still experience the problem where the sim does not come in contact with the pins inside the phone. I have tried the tape fix a few times with a few different sims (that all work on my s4) but no good. I was wondering if anyone has any good fixes before I have to send it out to HTC. Also, if anyone has sent their phone to HTC, how much does it cost? Thanks

I had this problem on my HTC One, the sim usually worked but sometimes the phone said "no sim card inserted", suggesting there wasn't a proper contact between the phone and sim. I tried the tape method too but it didn't work. Eventually I sent the phone back to the retailer I purchased it from and I received a replacement, as it was under warranty and was not accidentally damaged.

HTC shouldn't charge for this if the phone is undamaged, they usually provide a 1 year warranty. They should either repair the phone or give you a replacement. Try calling them and see what they say.
The Following User Says Thank You to JasSingh93 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasSingh93 View Post
I had this problem on my HTC One, the sim usually worked but sometimes the phone said "no sim card inserted", suggesting there wasn't a proper contact between the phone and sim. I tried the tape method too but it didn't work. Eventually I sent the phone back to the retailer I purchased it from and I received a replacement, as it was under warranty and was not accidentally damaged.

HTC shouldn't charge for this if the phone is undamaged, they usually provide a 1 year warranty. They should either repair the phone or give you a replacement. Try calling them and see what they say.
Yeah i just called htc. I wanted to know how much they charge for the repair (im not under warranty anymore).
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Does anyone know any possible fixes that work that doesn't require me to send it back to HTC or my carrier? Would buying a new sim tray, switching to a nano sim and using a nano to micro adapter, updating software, etc? Still stuck on this. Any help would be appreciated.
 
user602
Old
#5  
user602's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 271
Join Date: May 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by O-rangePeels View Post
Does anyone know any possible fixes that work that doesn't require me to send it back to HTC or my carrier? Would buying a new sim tray, switching to a nano sim and using a nano to micro adapter, updating software, etc? Still stuck on this. Any help would be appreciated.
I was getting the no SIM error intermittently. I tried the "add tape to SIM" method, which seemed to work for a while. I think I added three layers of tape over time, but the error kept coming back.

I understand that you've tried other SIM cards that you have available, but in my case, getting a new SIM card fixed the problem. I have not seen the error since I replaced it about three weeks ago.
HTC Device History: One (M8) DE [current] | One (M7) DE [current] | One (M7) 32GB [current] | Ace 9192 | Rhodium 300 | Kaiser 130 | Wizard 100
Samsung Device History: Note 10.1 SM-P600 [current] | Note 10.1 GT-N8013 [current] | Tab 10.1 GT-P7510
Asus Device History: Nexus 7 Flo 32GB [current] | Nexus 7 Grouper 32GB
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Quote:
Originally Posted by user602 View Post
I was getting the no SIM error intermittently. I tried the "add tape to SIM" method, which seemed to work for a while. I think I added three layers of tape over time, but the error kept coming back.

I understand that you've tried other SIM cards that you have available, but in my case, getting a new SIM card fixed the problem. I have not seen the error since I replaced it about three weeks ago.
Yeah I tried a few, but I think i will try using a nano sim with an adapter to see if it works out. Thanks.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more