5,598,297 Members 47,950 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Help] How can I create 2 partitions?

Tip us?
 
uz-20
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Islamabad
Default [Help] How can I create 2 partitions?

Hi all,

Title says it all, how can I create 2 partitions on SD-Card? My SD-Card is Transcend 16 GB class 4 card. As one thread says like this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1388637224364.jpg
Views:	1239
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	2488718

Sent from my HTC Explorer A310e using xda app-developers app
 
ReX-Hell2heAven
Old
#2  
ReX-Hell2heAven's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 67
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hyderabad
Default s,.. u can

first of alll...copy ur sdcard into ur lap r computer...(as partitioning deletes all the data)
Go to recovery->advanced -> partition ->select ext3(1024mb i.e 1gb or 512mb as pic says) AND select swap(65 mb)its nothing bt sd-cache
better use Voltage:cowboy control as 3rd party app for oc its better than Setcpu
The Following User Says Thank You to ReX-Hell2heAven For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
uz-20
Old
(Last edited by uz-20; 2nd January 2014 at 06:16 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Islamabad
Thumbs up Thanks! but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashokg@htc explorer View Post
first of alll...copy ur sdcard into ur lap r computer...(as partitioning deletes all the data)
Go to recovery->advanced -> partition ->select ext3(1024mb i.e 1gb or 512mb as pic says) AND select swap(65 mb)its nothing bt sd-cache
better use Voltage:cowboy control as 3rd party app for oc its better than Setcpu
Thanks, that helped. But, while installing HTC sense 5.0 on HTC Explorer, the instructions said:

http://dl.xda-developers.com/attachd...8/4/8/help.PNG

What does he mean by "create 2 Sd-Ext Partitions ext4/ext3 on your sd-card"?
I create 1GB sd-ext partition, what about the 2nd partition? What is 2nd Partition and how to assign 1GB space to it? . I am using TWRP Recovery 2.6.3.0.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	help.PNG
Views:	34
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	2488848  
 
shubhojit89
Old
#4  
shubhojit89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 309
Posts: 759
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kalyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by uz-20 View Post
Thanks, that helped. But, while installing HTC sense 5.0 on HTC Explorer, the instructions said:

http://dl.xda-developers.com/attachd...8/4/8/help.PNG

What does he mean by "create 2 Sd-Ext Partitions ext4/ext3 on your sd-card"?
I create 1GB sd-ext partition, what about the 2nd partition? What is 2nd Partition and how to assign 1GB space to it? . I am using TWRP Recovery 2.6.3.0.
Simply use minitool or any partition wizard..

Connect your card through a card reader.. Open the wizard..

Select your card you can see the drive letter of it..

Select that drive delete it..

Now create the a new partition of 1gb ext2/ext4 for 1st partition.

same step for 2nd partiton..

Then remaining format it as fat32.. You will get two partitions..
The Following User Says Thank You to shubhojit89 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stroLLium
Old
(Last edited by stroLLium; 3rd January 2014 at 12:47 PM.)
#5  
stroLLium's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Karachi
Quote:
Originally Posted by uz-20 View Post
Thanks, that helped. But, while installing HTC sense 5.0 on HTC Explorer, the instructions said:

http://dl.xda-developers.com/attachd...8/4/8/help.PNG

What does he mean by "create 2 Sd-Ext Partitions ext4/ext3 on your sd-card"?
I create 1GB sd-ext partition, what about the 2nd partition? What is 2nd Partition and how to assign 1GB space to it? . I am using TWRP Recovery 2.6.3.0.
You'll need 2 sdext partitions because one of the partitions will be used as SD-SYSTEM and the other would be used as SD-DATA. Most of the apps and data will be stored on these partitions instead of the internal memory on our pico which is very small. This way, you won't need any memory increasing scripts and will have plenty of space for apps. If you have enough space, you can even flash full GAPPS.

1.Open MiniTool. Locate your SDcard on the list.
2.Right-click and delete. Right-click again and create.
3.Create two partitions of atleast 1GB each, type primary (not logical), and file system ext4/ext3 (ext4 recommended).
4.Use all of the remaining space to create another partition with file system FAT32, type primary.
5.Apply.
The Following User Says Thank You to stroLLium For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
uz-20
Old
(Last edited by uz-20; 3rd January 2014 at 03:20 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Islamabad
Thumbs up Problem solved!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stroLLium View Post
You'll need 2 sdext partitions because one of the partitions will be used as SD-SYSTEM and the other would be used as SD-DATA. Most of the apps and data will be stored on these partitions instead of the internal memory on our pico which is very small. This way, you won't need any memory increasing scripts and will have plenty of space for apps. If you have enough space, you can even flash full GAPPS.

1.Open MiniTool. Locate your SDcard on the list.
2.Right-click and delete. Right-click again and create.
3.Create two partitions of atleast 1GB each, type primary (not logical), and file system ext4/ext3 (ext4 recommended).
4.Use all of the remaining space to create another partition with file system FAT32, type primary.
5.Apply.
This completely solves my problem. Thanks, #4 & #5.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes