5,603,646 Members 37,304 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Fail to load Rom when updating partition

Tip us?
 
ph4nthom
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default [Q] Fail to load Rom when updating partition

A little background on my t0ltetmo
I'm currently running CarbonRom Nightly 10-28-2013
My recovery is TWRP 2.5.0.3

I wanted to try a different Rom specifically JediMaster, however when i tried to change Roms I got an error. I figured that it may just be the Rom I downloaded. I tried a few others and each one gives me a similar error. I have placed what it says below:

updating partition details...
Running boot script...

Finished running boot script.
Formatting Cache using make_ext4fs...
Done.
Updating partition details...
Installing '/sdcard/download/cm-11-20131229-NIGHTLY.zip'
Checking for MD5 file...
Skipping MD5 check: no MD5 file found.
set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E: Error executing updater binary in zip '/sdcard/download/cm-11-20131229-NIGHTLY.zip'
Error flashing zip '/sdcard/download/cm-11-20131229-NIGHTLY.zip'

I don't quite understand what I may have done to get this but some help would be greatly appreciated.
 
youStolemylaptop
Old
#2  
youStolemylaptop's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 321
Join Date: Mar 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you tried using a different recovery?
Phone - Samsung Note 2

Rom - VanirAOSP

Recovery - TWRP Recovery

Forum Rules

If I helped press the button.


LTE Speeds
 
Coug76
Old
#3  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 449
Posts: 1,392
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East of Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph4nthom View Post
A little background on my t0ltetmo
I'm currently running CarbonRom Nightly 10-28-2013
My recovery is TWRP 2.5.0.3

I wanted to try a different Rom specifically JediMaster, however when i tried to change Roms I got an error. I figured that it may just be the Rom I downloaded. I tried a few others and each one gives me a similar error. I have placed what it says below:

updating partition details...
Running boot script...

Finished running boot script.
Formatting Cache using make_ext4fs...
Done.
Updating partition details...
Installing '/sdcard/download/cm-11-20131229-NIGHTLY.zip'
Checking for MD5 file...
Skipping MD5 check: no MD5 file found.
set_metadata_recursive: some changes failed
E: Error executing updater binary in zip '/sdcard/download/cm-11-20131229-NIGHTLY.zip'
Error flashing zip '/sdcard/download/cm-11-20131229-NIGHTLY.zip'

I don't quite understand what I may have done to get this but some help would be greatly appreciated.
TWRP is on version 2.6.3.1 (or 2.6.3.2 if you go to the TWRP thread in original development). I think that will help the flash process.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
The Following User Says Thank You to Coug76 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ph4nthom
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thumbs up Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76 View Post
TWRP is on version 2.6.3.1 (or 2.6.3.2 if you go to the TWRP thread in original development). I think that will help the flash process.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Okay. So I figured out the problem. While I was running an older version of TWRP (which I have updated, so thank you), the problem appeared to be that I somehow switched partitions on my phone. My system partition was acting as my internal SD card and the internal SD was acting as the system partition. This also covers why i kept running out of storage space. I was able to correct if while using the Aroma installer for the JEDI Rom which has the option to switch partitions (honestly I think this is how I did it originally but now I know better).

Lesson learned. Thank you for your help.
 
ph4nthom
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by youStolemylaptop View Post
Have you tried using a different recovery?
I have used both TWRP and CWM. CWM would freak out every time I booted into it. I'll assume it's because I switched partitions. Thank you for your help though.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes