5,604,367 Members 48,936 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

DPI / LCD Density diff between XZU and GPE?

Tip us?
 
bulldog212
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default DPI / LCD Density diff between XZU and GPE?

Anyone know why the density looks so drastically different between both variants? The Verge pics make it very clear something was lost in vanilla. I want the GPE version. But I want the Ultra in general because I want to see more info using the real estate, not because I'm impaired. I was hoping to avoid rooting a phone for the first time but it might be unavoidable. On my Note going from 320 to 260 is sooo much better use of space. Phone DPI on 6.4" would be way too cartoonish and such a waste. Anyone know the DPI settings for both versions?
 
hamdogg
Old
#2  
hamdogg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 982
Posts: 1,492
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Zealand

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog212 View Post
Anyone know why the density looks so drastically different between both variants? The Verge pics make it very clear something was lost in vanilla. I want the GPE version. But I want the Ultra in general because I want to see more info using the real estate, not because I'm impaired. I was hoping to avoid rooting a phone for the first time but it might be unavoidable. On my Note going from 320 to 260 is sooo much better use of space. Phone DPI on 6.4" would be way too cartoonish and such a waste. Anyone know the DPI settings for both versions?
official sources say both Sony and GPe are 320 DPi

I know my Sony dogg rom is 320 DPi... hope that helps. (stock Sony based ROM)
 
BLOWNCO
Old
#3  
BLOWNCO's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1539
Posts: 1,764
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NOR CAL

 
DONATE TO ME
i have the GPe version and my build prop stock was 400 i think
BLOWNCO.COM
wallpapers/roms/mods/and more

 
bulldog212
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jul 2010
These are the comparison shots from Verge...

http://mobile.theverge.com/2013/12/2...edition-review
 
bulldog212
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jul 2010
These are the comparison shots from Verge...

http://mobile.theverge.com/2013/12/2...edition-review
 
iBuzman
Old
#6  
iBuzman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 266
Posts: 813
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne
deleted. sry.
 
ps000000
Old
#7  
ps000000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 370
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nonthaburi / Bangkok
may be Kitkat stock launcher has bigger icon
Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) P601 - 3G

My history
Android - Galaxy S2 (i9100T) , Dell Streak 5 , Tab 7 Plus (P6200L) , Galaxy Nexus (Maguro), Note 2 (N7100) , Galaxy S4 (i9505), Galaxy Mega 6.3 (i9205) , Galaxy Note3 (N9005) , Xperia Z Ultra (C6833)
iOS - iPhone 4 - 16GB , iPhone 4S - 16GB , iPhone 5 - 16GB , iPad 3 - WiFi - 16GB
Windows Phone - Lumia 920

My PC - i5-2500K + Asus HD7970TOP + water cooling
My Lap - Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 - i7 2760QM + HD 6770M
 
clubtech
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,671
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
GPe edition is 400dpi and stock Sony is 320. Root and change it manually to 320.

Sent from my C6806_GPe using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
 
bulldog212
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog212 View Post
These are the comparison shots from Verge...

http://mobile.theverge.com/2013/12/2...edition-review
Quote:
Originally Posted by clubtech View Post
GPe edition is 400dpi and stock Sony is 320. Root and change it manually to 320.

Sent from my C6806_GPe using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
400 is such a waste. If I root I loose all future OTA updates right? I'm trying to avoid flashing to get vanilla android, thus GPE.
 
clubtech
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 296
Posts: 1,671
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulldog212 View Post
400 is such a waste. If I root I loose all future OTA updates right? I'm trying to avoid flashing to get vanilla android, thus GPE.
No, you can still get OTA. Just make sure you back the original build.prop and when you get OTA switch to the original buid.prop file and the OTA would go through just fine.
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more