5,594,341 Members 38,041 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root and OTA

Tip us?
 
TheNetwork
Old
#1  
TheNetwork's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 352
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Root and OTA

If I ever get an OTA update (almost unheard of on AT&T), what do I need to do before I install it to not mess up my phone? It's currently just rooted on the stock ROM.
 
datechnerd
Old
#2  
datechnerd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 305
Join Date: Sep 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNetwork View Post
If I ever get an OTA update (almost unheard of on AT&T), what do I need to do before I install it to not mess up my phone? It's currently just rooted on the stock ROM.
probably just go into supersu and click full unroot
unless you put a custom recovery on the phone
 
Lawlrus
Old
#3  
Lawlrus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 523
Posts: 1,610
Join Date: Nov 2013
I just updated to Vs98012b. Anyone know of the io root method works the same? Havent really seen many threads about people talking about the new ota's

Its nothing but people that have bricked their phones on here.

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
 
datechnerd
Old
#4  
datechnerd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 305
Join Date: Sep 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawlrus View Post
I just updated to Vs98012b. Anyone know of the io root method works the same? Havent really seen many threads about people talking about the new ota's

Its nothing but people that have bricked their phones on here.

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
heres the most recent ioroot
itll work with 12b
Attached Files
File Type: zip ioroot16.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.61 MB, 25 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to datechnerd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lawlrus
Old
#5  
Lawlrus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 523
Posts: 1,610
Join Date: Nov 2013
Many thanks. I should be good to just use the same twrp file I used before to push?
Or am I to use the one in your thread?

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
 
datechnerd
Old
#6  
datechnerd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 305
Join Date: Sep 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawlrus View Post
Many thanks. I should be good to just use the same twrp file I used before to push?
Or am I to use the one in your thread?

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
12b use the one from my thread
The Following User Says Thank You to datechnerd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TheNetwork
Old
#7  
TheNetwork's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 352
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by datechnerd View Post
probably just go into supersu and click full unroot
unless you put a custom recovery on the phone
And what happens if I put a custom recovery on?
 
datechnerd
Old
#8  
datechnerd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 305
Join Date: Sep 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNetwork View Post
And what happens if I put a custom recovery on?
you get a nice recovery bootloop

but if you get an update

just use the update tool on the pc and plug your phone in and even if you
have a custom recovery it'll update because the update tool does it in download mode
The Following User Says Thank You to datechnerd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TheNetwork
Old
#9  
TheNetwork's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 352
Join Date: Apr 2011
What does "upgrade recovery" do in LG Mobile Support Tool? I tried googling it and couldn't find anything. I rooted and installed TWRP, and the LG Mobile Support tool says I don't have an update available but I'm only on the D80010d, not D80010o
 
bachera
Old
#10  
bachera's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 194
Posts: 991
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNetwork View Post
What does "upgrade recovery" do in LG Mobile Support Tool? I tried googling it and couldn't find anything. I rooted and installed TWRP, and the LG Mobile Support tool says I don't have an update available but I'm only on the D80010d, not D80010o
it should put latest firmware on. together with format of everything

edit almost everything

Sent from my LG-D802 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes