5,596,235 Members 35,833 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wifi only access to google.com

Tip us?
 
dkloos
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Wifi only access to google.com

Hi there,

I'll explain what's wrong here, I have a Samsung S3 i9300 with Android 4.3.1 (SlimBean) and everything works fine. Only when I turn on WiFi (tried several), my internet acces is limited to the google site, and some apps like Facebook and Whatsapp. But when I try to navigate to other websites, I recieve a -Not found- error.

So it seems like technically everything is ok (otherwise I also couldn't open google in my browser). Other devices connected to the same network do not have this issue. I tried to change DNS settings (e.g. 8.8.8.8), but this is not possible in 4.3.1 as far as I can see.

Any suggestions are welcome!
 
lokeshi007
Old
(Last edited by lokeshi007; 5th January 2014 at 03:09 PM.)
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkloos View Post
Hi there,

I'll explain what's wrong here, I have a Samsung S3 i9300 with Android 4.3.1 (SlimBean) and everything works fine. Only when I turn on WiFi (tried several), my internet acces is limited to the google site, and some apps like Facebook and Whatsapp. But when I try to navigate to other websites, I recieve a -Not found- error.

So it seems like technically everything is ok (otherwise I also couldn't open google in my browser). Other devices connected to the same network do not have this issue. I tried to change DNS settings (e.g. 8.8.8.8), but this is not possible in 4.3.1 as far as I can see.

Any suggestions are welcome!
Does it happen on a particular WiFi network or any WiFi?

Is your WiFi hidden?
You can try making Android forget this network & again manually setting it up.

You can also check for any App that may be restricting WiFi traffic

EDIT:
You can change WiFi network settings even in 4.4.2 KitKat

Long Press your Wifi -> Modify Network -> Check 'Show Advanced Options' -> Change IP Settings to 'Static'
Now all settings incl DNS will be visible & you can change them.
The Following User Says Thank You to lokeshi007 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dkloos
Old
(Last edited by dkloos; 5th January 2014 at 03:22 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
I tested several networks and they're not hidden.

I use DroidWall, but uninstalling this does not have an effect unfortunately. Also forgetting and reconnecting does not help.

[EDIT]
Thanks for the tip, however this also does not give me access to the rest of the world wide web..
 
lokeshi007
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkloos View Post
I tested several networks and they're not hidden.

I use DroidWall, but uninstalling this does not have an effect unfortunately. Also forgetting and reconnecting does not help.

[EDIT]
Thanks for the tip, however this also does not give me access to the rest of the world wide web..
Did try using some software such as Wifi Connection Fixer?

Also did you try using different browsers on your phone?

I was having such an issue with ebay.in on the stock browser my i9300. But the same thing loaded perfectly with Chrome.
Clearing the Data & Cache of the stock browser helped later on.
 
dkloos
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
I will try the Wifi Fixer, thanks!

I tried two different browsers without luck, and it is a problem beyond the browser imo, because the Play Store also can not download apps when connected to WiFi. I can search for apps, but when I want to download them, it gives me a -no connection, retry-..
 
lokeshi007
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkloos View Post
I will try the Wifi Fixer, thanks!

I tried two different browsers without luck, and it is a problem beyond the browser imo, because the Play Store also can not download apps when connected to WiFi. I can search for apps, but when I want to download them, it gives me a -no connection, retry-..
If nothing works, I guess you might have to reflash your ROM after clearing the whole data & cache..

IMO, CM11 M2 (Android 4.4.2) is quite good, just flashed it on my S3..
 
dkloos
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2012
Well, I now changed the DNS settings to the google DNS server (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and rebooted the phone and this did the trick.

I don't really understand it, but I am glad I can use my phone without wiping it completely again!
 
lokeshi007
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkloos View Post
Well, I now changed the DNS settings to the google DNS server (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) and rebooted the phone and this did the trick.

I don't really understand it, but I am glad I can use my phone without wiping it completely again!
Great!
Enjoy using your phone once again!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Force Translucent Status Bar in KitKat ROMs with Xposed

It’s been a while since Android 4.4KitKat wasreleased, and we’re slowly … more

Fix the Ambient Light Issues on Your Google Nexus 5 using Xposed

The Google Nexus 5 is a great and rather popular device. This LG-produced … more

Google Glass XE16 Update Factory Image and Rooted Bootloader Now Available

You may recall that early yesterday, we talked about the XE16 … more