5,598,233 Members 47,332 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Att G2 recovery..

Tip us?
 
Skizzy034
Old
#1  
Skizzy034's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 3,553
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Amsterdam, NY
Default Att G2 recovery..

I may be getting a G2 from someone. I'm just wondering if it is still possible to install twrp. He said the build number ends in jdq39b.

Also, the att version is the D800 right?

Skizzy034 (formerly SkizzMcNizz)
*NOTE* I'll never recommend using a toolkit to root your device because if you don't know how to root your phone manually, you shouldn't be rooting your phone. -KidCarter93 <--- Right on the money

My Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/sgutowski77
 
Nicamarcel1
Old
#2  
Nicamarcel1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 176
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: worcester
Brother check if its not a chinese version! You might get scam.... by baying a phone even if people can changed the built.pro to change information to make it seing like an USA phone still behing the battery its all you need to make sure if that is removed don't buy it.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
 
votinh
Old
#3  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 406
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skizzy034 View Post
I may be getting a G2 from someone. I'm just wondering if it is still possible to install twrp. He said the build number ends in jdq39b.

Also, the att version is the D800 right?

Skizzy034 (formerly SkizzMcNizz)
It seems so.
It matches with my device.
Official CM10.1 Nightly @ 1000MHz NOOKcolor
Offiical CM11 KK Nightly on Kindle Fire 1st-Gen
Rooted Kindle Fire HD 8.9" w/ Nova Launcher
Virgin JB 4.3 on Sony Xperia Tablet Z
Stock ROM KK 4.4.2 on LG-D800

Virgin Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 - LOST
Slimbean 8.1 on Galaxy S2 i777 - LOST
 
hydeah
Old
(Last edited by hydeah; 6th January 2014 at 09:59 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 341
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skizzy034 View Post
I may be getting a G2 from someone. I'm just wondering if it is still possible to install twrp. He said the build number ends in jdq39b.

Also, the att version is the D800 right?

Skizzy034 (formerly SkizzMcNizz)


D800 comes with D80010d version installed, then you get forced into getting 10o by AT&T.
If yours comes with 10d, make sure to root asap and then disable OTA, otherwise there are a lot of problems posted in both Root Your G2 thread and Install TWRP thread. There are people who got it rooted & recovery installed fairly problem-free, then there are others who ran into problems.

Knowing my luck, I decided to wait until there is a solid solution for TWRP on 10o.
Rooting is no problem as posted by the developer in the thread after ioroot15. If yours comes with 10o and if you root + install recovery, keep us posted.

When are you supposed to receive yours?
 
votinh
Old
#5  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 406
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Jul 2011
You should have quoted the OP, not mine, but anyway, just to let everyone know that LG does NOT force customer into getting new update. It is there and it is a customers' choice to run the update or NOT.
Official CM10.1 Nightly @ 1000MHz NOOKcolor
Offiical CM11 KK Nightly on Kindle Fire 1st-Gen
Rooted Kindle Fire HD 8.9" w/ Nova Launcher
Virgin JB 4.3 on Sony Xperia Tablet Z
Stock ROM KK 4.4.2 on LG-D800

Virgin Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 - LOST
Slimbean 8.1 on Galaxy S2 i777 - LOST
 
hydeah
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 341
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by votinh View Post
You should have quoted the OP, not mine, but anyway, just to let everyone know that LG does NOT force customer into getting new update. It is there and it is a customers' choice to run the update or NOT.

LG does not, but AT&T does. Since OP is buying one from AT&T, it is very likely it will come OTA pre-installed.
In my case, AT&T forced me, along with other (read reports) to take the OTA. We were given a notice of update being available, and knowing that it messes up certain things root-related, I did not take it, I delayed it as much as possible, until one reboot, it said "wait, updating...."..
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more