Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,817 Members 53,487 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Does anybody knows how to use 4g and not 3g?

Tip us?
 
Nicamarcel1
Old
#1  
Nicamarcel1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 177
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: worcester
Default Does anybody knows how to use 4g and not 3g?

I notice that my phone can support 3g with 4g lte or 3g with just 4g. I have 4g in my town but not 4g lte so i just want to enable 4g not 4glte. If any idea just show your skills. I believe by changing modem but not sure since i dont know any modem to try.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda premium
 
tegezee
Old
#2  
tegezee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 333
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lansing, MI
That's 4g wimax, you have to have a wimax compatible phone like HTC evo

Sent from my LG-LS980 flashed to boost mobile using XDA Premium 4
 
Nicamarcel1
Old
#3  
Nicamarcel1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 177
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: worcester
I mean... my phone was using 4g not 4g lte after i unlock it. Sorry for posting in development i meant to post it in the general...

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda premium
 
KB112
Old
#4  
KB112's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 678
Posts: 2,924
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: East SF-Bay Area
4G is LTE on this device. The old 4G sprint had, was Wimax. So if you're using 4G on this device it's just LTE, plain and simple.

Sent from my LG-ls980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Sprint - ED Family Plan w/ 6 lines.
LG G2 (Stock Rooted - TWRP)
 
phatmanxxl
Old
(Last edited by phatmanxxl; 5th January 2014 at 04:46 AM.)
#5  
phatmanxxl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1083
Posts: 4,815
Join Date: Dec 2008
There's a way to do it (LTE Only), but it requires your MSL and going into the programming mode, I'd advise against it. Or you can flash a KK ROM.

To get 4G wimax you need a wimax phone, I think the Samsung S2 was that last one.
I am phatman and I am a flashaholic
LG G2 D800
 
jcwxguy
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 620
Join Date: Mar 2011
questions belong in the Q/A thread..not development ....
 
Nicamarcel1
Old
#7  
Nicamarcel1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 177
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: worcester
Well i had 4g with full signal with out having a 4g lte towers closed by and my speed was faster then 3g... So It only happen when I changed my ro._____operator to open my speed increases to 4g usually when im out of town and my phone its on 4g lte it will said 4 lte well explain that then cause i think im missing something I guest.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
 
Nicamarcel1
Old
#8  
Nicamarcel1's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 177
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: worcester
Quote:
Originally Posted by KB112 View Post
4G is LTE on this device. The old 4G sprint had, was Wimax. So if you're using 4G on this device it's just LTE, plain and simple.

Sent from my LG-ls980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Do you know any way to get the msl pass code ? Or link me to it?

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
 
LordLugard
Old
#9  
LordLugard's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 288
Posts: 1,701
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicamarcel1 View Post
Do you know any way to get the msl pass code ? Or link me to it?

Sent from my LG-LS980 using xda app-developers app
This dialer code ##443336772# will flash a toast notification on the bottom of the screen with your SPC/MSL code.
Previous mistresses:
Epic Touch (Galaxy)
Nexus S 4G
Epic 4G Touch (Galaxy S2)
Galaxy S3
Galaxy Note 2
LG G2 (Current)

The Following User Says Thank You to LordLugard For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...