FORUMS

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

Moto G on AIO question

86 posts
Thanks Meter: 11
 
By ew2x4, Member on 4th January 2014, 06:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
We switched from Sprint to AIO. I got the Nexus 5 and the wife got a Moto G. My wife is getting around 2 mbps down at best and it says 3g. I'm concerned it's just normal HSPA and not HSPA+. Is there a way to tell which it's on? For the record, when I turn LTE off on my nexus, I hit the data cap of 3.5-4 mbps on HSPA+.
 
 
4th January 2014, 06:45 PM |#2  
lowrider262's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Racine, WI
Thanks Meter: 553
 
More
Settings>About Phone>Status>Mobile Network Type

Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk
5th January 2014, 10:31 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
Depending on which model you purchased, your Moto G may or may not support HSPA or HSPA+. If you purchase the unlocked USA GSM model, it does have HSPA+. If you bought the global model, it's strictly 3G only.
6th January 2014, 05:17 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rarscaryfrosty

Depending on which model you purchased, your Moto G may or may not support HSPA or HSPA+. If you purchase the unlocked USA GSM model, it does have HSPA+. If you bought the global model, it's strictly 3G only.

.... thats a bunch of misinformation. All the models have HSPA+. The US models only show 3G on screen even when connected to HSPA+ (if you dont believe me there are several ways to check). With AIO either of the US models or the international models will work just fine (as it runs on ATT's network) the only time you really need to worry about network compatibility is if you are buying the phone to run on T-Mobile as you will need the US model instead of the Global model.
6th January 2014, 05:20 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by big gulps huh?

.... thats a bunch of misinformation. All the models have HSPA+. The US models only show 3G on screen even when connected to HSPA+ (if you dont believe me there are several ways to check). With AIO either of the US models or the international models will work just fine (as it runs on ATT's network) the only time you really need to worry about network compatibility is if you are buying the phone to run on T-Mobile as you will need the US model instead of the Global model.

Ah sorry, I guess I was misinformed. I must have been confused about the model that T-Mobile requires.
6th January 2014, 05:21 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rarscaryfrosty

Ah sorry, I guess I was misinformed. I must have been confused about the model that T-Mobile requires.

no worries. There seems to be a ton of confusion out there about this phone and which model to use. Motorola should add a chart or something on their site to clear it all up.
6th January 2014, 06:03 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Just checked mine there now hspa+ and downloads of between 3.5 and 5 Mbps in my house ,other days I can get up to 9 Mbps,UK stock ROM rooted on giffgaff network,Posted screenshots of speeds that I get in my bathroom which are usually poor compared to rest of house
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-06-17-56-09.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	2498530   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-06-17-55-29.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	2498531  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes