FORUMS

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

Moto G on AIO question

Thanks Meter: 11
 
By ew2x4, Member on 4th January 2014, 06:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
We switched from Sprint to AIO. I got the Nexus 5 and the wife got a Moto G. My wife is getting around 2 mbps down at best and it says 3g. I'm concerned it's just normal HSPA and not HSPA+. Is there a way to tell which it's on? For the record, when I turn LTE off on my nexus, I hit the data cap of 3.5-4 mbps on HSPA+.
 
 
4th January 2014, 06:45 PM |#2  
lowrider262's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Racine, WI
Thanks Meter: 553
 
More
Settings>About Phone>Status>Mobile Network Type

Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk
5th January 2014, 10:31 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Depending on which model you purchased, your Moto G may or may not support HSPA or HSPA+. If you purchase the unlocked USA GSM model, it does have HSPA+. If you bought the global model, it's strictly 3G only.
6th January 2014, 05:17 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rarscaryfrosty

Depending on which model you purchased, your Moto G may or may not support HSPA or HSPA+. If you purchase the unlocked USA GSM model, it does have HSPA+. If you bought the global model, it's strictly 3G only.

.... thats a bunch of misinformation. All the models have HSPA+. The US models only show 3G on screen even when connected to HSPA+ (if you dont believe me there are several ways to check). With AIO either of the US models or the international models will work just fine (as it runs on ATT's network) the only time you really need to worry about network compatibility is if you are buying the phone to run on T-Mobile as you will need the US model instead of the Global model.
6th January 2014, 05:20 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by big gulps huh?

.... thats a bunch of misinformation. All the models have HSPA+. The US models only show 3G on screen even when connected to HSPA+ (if you dont believe me there are several ways to check). With AIO either of the US models or the international models will work just fine (as it runs on ATT's network) the only time you really need to worry about network compatibility is if you are buying the phone to run on T-Mobile as you will need the US model instead of the Global model.

Ah sorry, I guess I was misinformed. I must have been confused about the model that T-Mobile requires.
6th January 2014, 05:21 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rarscaryfrosty

Ah sorry, I guess I was misinformed. I must have been confused about the model that T-Mobile requires.

no worries. There seems to be a ton of confusion out there about this phone and which model to use. Motorola should add a chart or something on their site to clear it all up.
6th January 2014, 06:03 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Just checked mine there now hspa+ and downloads of between 3.5 and 5 Mbps in my house ,other days I can get up to 9 Mbps,UK stock ROM rooted on giffgaff network,Posted screenshots of speeds that I get in my bathroom which are usually poor compared to rest of house
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-06-17-56-09.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	2498530   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-01-06-17-55-29.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	2498531  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes