Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

trying to flash modem bin

OP okay22s

6th January 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
using odin to flash modem bin with 4.3 rom but when i look in about device it will not stick still says mdl 5 times already
6th January 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #2  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, California
Thanks Meter: 3,065
 
5,336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up re: Odin flashing modem.bin
Quote:
Originally Posted by okay22s

using odin to flash modem bin with 4.3 rom but when i look in about device it will not stick still says mdl 5 times already

Download the MK2 Modem.bin if you don't already have it.
Here is the direct download link for it: http://www.mediafire.com/download/1g...l89x/modem.bin

Here are the exact step by step instructions for doing that, doing it this way worked fine for me.
Before flashing anything be sure to make a nandroid backup of your rom.

You can Odin flash the MK2 modem while on the 4.2.2 rom or flash it
after flashing Wicked v9.1 MK2 rom the procedure is exactly the same.

Before starting, unplug the usb cable from your phone if it's plugged in
and remove the battery from the phone for 30 seconds then replace.


#1: Power up the phone.
#2: Start ODIN and put the MODEM.BIN file into ODIN'S PHONE slot/tab.
#3: Un-Check the "Auto-Reboot" check box in ODIN.
#4: Put the phone into download mode
#5: Plug the USB cable into the phone and into the computer.
#6: Make sure that ODIN'S [COM:xx] lights up and click START..
#7: After Odin is done flashing unplug the usb cable.
#8: Manually power off the phone by using the power button only.
#9: Wait 20 seconds or so and power on the phone.

After flashing is done the baseband of the phone should display MK2 in
Settings>More>About Device> Baseband version.

Good luck with it!
Last edited by Misterjunky; 6th January 2014 at 06:34 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Misterjunky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 06:33 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks again I'll try that way
6th January 2014, 06:47 AM   |  #4  
xdapowerapps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by okay22s

Thanks again I'll try that way

After Odin says passed, leave it plugged in for another 30 seconds. Then manually power off the phone. Unplug it, put it in download mode again, replug it, and flash again. Then reboot. It will stick.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xdapowerapps For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 07:17 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks for the info finally got it after six times just thought I was doing something wrong the first couple of times I'm happly running darthstalker ROM with no data drops everything's smooth thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to okay22s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #6  
xdapowerapps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by okay22s

Thanks for the info finally got it after six times just thought I was doing something wrong the first couple of times I'm happly running darthstalker ROM with no data drops everything's smooth thanks

Yeah, it can take a while if it is your first time flashing a modem. Glad you have it working, enjoy your ROM!
7th January 2014, 03:23 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
908 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
just so I don't have to create a new thread and my question is somewhat related.
If I move up to 4.3 with root (not bootloader) and decide I want to come back to 4.2, will I have to flash the 4.2 (mdl) LTE modem or can the 4.3 (mk2) LTE modem work fine?[COLOR="Silver"]
7th January 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #8  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
6,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aamir123

just so I don't have to create a new thread and my question is somewhat related.
If I move up to 4.3 with root (not bootloader) and decide I want to come back to 4.2, will I have to flash the 4.2 (mdl) LTE modem or can the 4.3 (mk2) LTE modem work fine?[COLOR="Silver"]

The mk2 modem work just fine with mdl firmware. I was using it for over a week on mdl before flashing a 4.3 ROM.

☞ Sent from here☜🙈🙉🙊

The Following User Says Thank You to baseballfanz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes