Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Break a password

OP jay_xander

7th January 2014, 01:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I need to break a password to a deceased friends phone. It is protected by a pattern lock, and a backup Pin. It's a Samsung Galaxy S4 locked to the Fido network in Canada. There is valuable information on the phone that I need to obtain without erasing, including photos, texts, and other media stored to the device's memory.

3 months ago it was taken to a forensic specialist to crack it. But there was an issue apparently unique with the Fido network that prevented the breaking through.

As I said before, the information on this device is invaluable, and neither police, the carrier (Fido), or Samsung can offer assistance in getting through what seems to be a trivial pattern lock/a PIN.

Please somebody help!

Thanks in advance

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk
Last edited by jay_xander; 7th January 2014 at 01:46 AM.
7th January 2014, 01:40 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_xander

I need to break a password to a deceased friends phone. It is protected by a pattern lock, and a backup Pin. It's a Samsung Galaxy S4 locked to the Fido network in Canada. There is valuable information on the phone that I need to obtain without erasing, including photos, texts, and other media stored to the device's memory.

3 months ago it was taken to a forensic specialist to cracks it. But there was an issue unique surrounding the Fido network that prevented the breaking through.

As I said before, the information on this device is invaluable, and neither police, the carrier (Fido), or Samsung can offer assistance in getting through what seems to be a trivial pattern lock/a PIN.

Please somebody help!

Thanks in advance

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk



If the phone has USB debugging enabled, try this:

https://www.facebook.com/notes/jayso...58477897509066
7th January 2014, 01:44 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I highly doubt that it is enabled. Knowing my friend, he was not tech savvy, and owned the phone for 2 weeks before he passed. It is neither rooted nor debugging enabled.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk
7th January 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_xander

I highly doubt that it is enabled. Knowing my friend, he was not tech savvy, and owned the phone for 2 weeks before he passed. It is neither rooted nor debugging enabled.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk

Is it encrypted? If not....

Flash a custom recovery through odin..and then possibly, use adb to take a backup.
I've done this before on a Galaxy Y phone..didn't have adb though. I took a nandroid backup to the external sdcard and got it through that.

it's a bit of a hack though.

good luck.
7th January 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I don't know if it's encrypted. Is there any way to tell with it locked?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk
7th January 2014, 04:04 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_xander

I don't know if it's encrypted. Is there any way to tell with it locked?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk

Restart the phone, if it asks you for a password on bootup, it's encrypted. I'd highly doubt that it is since you mentioned that your friend isn't that tech savvy.
7th January 2014, 04:30 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
After bootup, I'm pretty sure it goes to lock screen. Which is where you are prompted for the password/PIN

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk
7th January 2014, 04:51 AM   |  #8  
smep's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
I did that once with a tablet .... custom R by odin .... nandroid. ...flash new rom .....extract any data from backup using titanium

Sent from dish washer

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes