Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rooting Samsung Galaxy s3 sch-L710 for tethering

OP ksmoove2

5th January 2014, 08:13 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I have Sprint service and was told that they're very strict on Wi-Fi tethering so I wanted to know if I got my phone rooted and used it as a hotspot for my Xbox 360 and laptop will Sprint know and try to charge me? Will the root turn it into a mobile hotspot?
6th January 2014, 08:20 PM   |  #2  
nyfl2004's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deerfield Beach, Fl
Thanks Meter: 678
 
627 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmoove2

I have Sprint service and was told that they're very strict on Wi-Fi tethering so I wanted to know if I got my phone rooted and used it as a hotspot for my Xbox 360 and laptop will Sprint know and try to charge me? Will the root turn it into a mobile hotspot?

Most custom roms have the native hotspot hacked. As far as Sprint seeing, I've never heard of it.
7th January 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmoove2

I have Sprint service and was told that they're very strict on Wi-Fi tethering so I wanted to know if I got my phone rooted and used it as a hotspot for my Xbox 360 and laptop will Sprint know and try to charge me? Will the root turn it into a mobile hotspot?

if you are willing to spend money, foxfi works fine too

I've been using it for almost a year now
7th January 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #4  
RootUserDWR's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Sprint knows when they see an excessive amount of data being used. They can't do anything about it unless you specify that your device is rooted.(Modified)

They do have specific tricks for customers with high data use. They disable the main tower where most of your data traffic comes from, but leave surrounding towers alone. That one tower will have LTE slowed but 3G will be at regular capacity. It's only done for about 2 to 3 weeks and then enabled again.

Basically, it's spot checking.
They've done it to me on 3 different occasions in 3 different areas across town. And I always check to see if it's the case by going to the next nearest tower and doing speed tests in the area.

(Just try to stay under 50GB and you'll be okay).

Sent from my SPH-L710 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes