Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,210 Members 49,057 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Note cannot display black

Tip us?
 
nielo360
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Note cannot display black

as soon as I turn up the brightness i start getting a whitish tint and the whites get extremly bright, is this normal? it seems like black simply cannot be displayed properly.
 
sleekmason
Old
#2  
sleekmason's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 385
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Fayetteville
Default black not clear

Quote:
Originally Posted by nielo360 View Post
as soon as I turn up the brightness i start getting a whitish tint and the whites get extremly bright, is this normal? it seems like black simply cannot be displayed properly.
No, this tablet should look like any other phone or device as far as the screen goes, actually it should look better due to the better resolution. I would suggest just returning your device for another one.
 
clouds5
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 344
Posts: 1,473
Join Date: Feb 2011
If you're used to samoled screens blacks might seem a bit less dark since the note 10.1 2014 has an LCD. It's a different technology but the blacks are very good for an LCD. So maybe go to a shop and compare it to see if yours are different?
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S III | Stock rooted
Tablet: Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition Wifi | Stock rooted
 
ChrisNee1988
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 471
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielo360 View Post
as soon as I turn up the brightness i start getting a whitish tint and the whites get extremly bright, is this normal? it seems like black simply cannot be displayed properly.
Its pretty normal for a lcd screen.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
nielo360
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisNee1988 View Post
Its pretty normal for a lcd screen.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
yep i just realized that lol I had forgotten it was an lcd.
 
madsquabbles
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 250
Posts: 1,685
Join Date: Jan 2009
amoled does spoil you doesn't it, lol.
 
nielo360
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 261
Join Date: Mar 2011
Yes thts so true, its hard to not nit pick, iv been corrupted by amoled

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...