5,606,201 Members 32,455 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Safestrap 3.71 Problem

Tip us?
 
Astrophysicist789
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default [Q] Safestrap 3.71 Problem

Hello out there. I have a strange situation with my AT&T Galaxy S4 with Safestrap 3.71. I have rooted and installed Safestrap, downloaded a ROM, flashed it successfully, but for some reason when I switch to ROM slot 1 (this is where I flashed it) I get a black screen and my phone just reboots. What did I do wrong? I have been trying to use Safestrap for a while now, and every version of Safestrap and ROM that I tried flashing ended up like this. I always wipe everything before flashing to prevent a dirty flash. I tried with the MF3 firmware and the result it the same with the new MK2 firnware. Also, I am always able to switch back to the stock ROM slot and it boots without a problem. I would greatly appreciate some input. Thank you.
 
wtfmateim65
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 24
Join Date: Oct 2007
Had this same problem, my ROM slot size wasn't big enough to flash the rom as I didnt have enough space. It would flash but then end with unable to mount /system and i'd bootloop upon reboot. I freed up space and DELETED the ROM slot 1. Then remade it and adjusted the ROM slot memory size. No more unable to mount /system and booted up into SHOstock 3.0 rom on MK2. Had to go back and wipe after flashing the ROM to get rid of force closes. Didnt touch stock slot
The Following User Says Thank You to wtfmateim65 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrophysicist789 View Post
Hello out there. I have a strange situation with my AT&T Galaxy S4 with Safestrap 3.71. I have rooted and installed Safestrap, downloaded a ROM, flashed it successfully, but for some reason when I switch to ROM slot 1 (this is where I flashed it) I get a black screen and my phone just reboots. What did I do wrong? I have been trying to use Safestrap for a while now, and every version of Safestrap and ROM that I tried flashing ended up like this. I always wipe everything before flashing to prevent a dirty flash. I tried with the MF3 firmware and the result it the same with the new MK2 firnware. Also, I am always able to switch back to the stock ROM slot and it boots without a problem. I would greatly appreciate some input. Thank you.
What ROM are you trying to flash? For MK2 safestrap you can only flash a TW based rom running 4.3, any other roms that are not TW based and are not on 4.3 will now work.
 
jasas212
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 94
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtfmateim65 View Post
Had this same problem, my ROM slot size wasn't big enough to flash the rom as I didnt have enough space. It would flash but then end with unable to mount /system and i'd bootloop upon reboot. I freed up space and DELETED the ROM slot 1. Then remade it and adjusted the ROM slot memory size. No more unable to mount /system and booted up into SHOstock 3.0 rom on MK2. Had to go back and wipe after flashing the ROM to get rid of force closes. Didnt touch stock slot
There is the problem.....add some data size...go to 3000 when you partition

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Astrophysicist789
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by O-rangePeels View Post
What ROM are you trying to flash? For MK2 safestrap you can only flash a TW based rom running 4.3, any other roms that are not TW based and are not on 4.3 will now work.
Can you/anyone suggest some roms that fit this criteria? As you can tell, i'm quite noobish in this field.
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrophysicist789 View Post
Can you/anyone suggest some roms that fit this criteria? As you can tell, i'm quite noobish in this field.
Hyperdrive rom/ infamous roms are my go to for my s4 on safestrap. You could also use the GPE roms if i am not mistaken.
 
hovax615@hotmail.com
Old
#7  
hovax615@hotmail.com's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 283
Posts: 1,363
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corona, CA - Murfreesboro, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by O-rangePeels View Post
Hyperdrive rom/ infamous roms are my go to for my s4 on safestrap. You could also use the GPE roms if i am not mistaken.
You can't flash gpe Roms on 4.3 due to a different kernel. Tried flashing a bunch of gpe Roms already none work.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
 
O-rangePeels
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oakland, california
Quote:
Originally Posted by hovax615@hotmail.com View Post
You can't flash gpe Roms on 4.3 due to a different kernel. Tried flashing a bunch of gpe Roms already none work.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
Ah I see, sorry. I thought you could since I was able to flash Eclipse GPE on 4.2.2.
 
Lpfan83
Old
#9  
Lpfan83's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Greencastle
Increase cache to 600 megabytes. No roms I flashed ran until I changed it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using xda app-developers app
 
mineralpoint
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2014
Hello I am having the same problem. I was able to load up SHOstock v3 the safestrap version once. Then I tried Hyperdrive and that worked as well. Now I can not get SHOstock to load again. I just get a black screen that lasts seemingly forever. I have tried up'ing the cache, up'ing the data partition, I have tried different slots, I have tried uninstalling safestrap recover and the install apk and re-downling. I cannot get anything to load. Has anyone had this happen to them and figured out what to do?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more

UnbelovedHosts Uses Xposed to Block Unwanted Connections

First popularized by mvps, hosts-based ad blocking has become the de facto standard … more