Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Tethering not working

OP PopperJuan

6th January 2014, 03:04 AM   |  #1  
PopperJuan's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rogers
Thanks Meter: 6
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
My little brother has a moto g and my girlfriend has a nexus 5, they both use the 30 monthly t mobile plan and tethering does not work at all, it takes them straight the the t mobile log in page, We all live in the US and in the 30 dollar plan, tethering is included for free, my little brothers old phone allowed tethering , and that phone was a t mobile phone, not unlocked, so any ideas on the issue.
And is there a fix that does not require root, they dont want me to root there phones yet
6th January 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #2  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,248
 
8,819 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PopperJuan

My little brother has a moto g and my girlfriend has a nexus 5, they both use the 30 monthly t mobile plan and tethering does not work at all, it takes them straight the the t mobile log in page, We all live in the US and in the 30 dollar plan, tethering is included for free, my little brothers old phone allowed tethering , and that phone was a t mobile phone, not unlocked, so any ideas on the issue.
And is there a fix that does not require root, they dont want me to root there phones yet

Try this app for instance https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...a.tether&hl=nl, there are more available on Google Play that don`t require root.
Last edited by gee2012; 6th January 2014 at 02:58 PM.
6th January 2014, 03:15 PM   |  #3  
PopperJuan's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rogers
Thanks Meter: 6
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Try this app for instance https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...a.tether&hl=nl, there are more available on Google Play that don`t require root.

Well I need something that can connect to ipods and tablets as well.. There has to be a reason why it doesn't work... The tether turns on it just doesn't function correctly

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
6th January 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Works here
I have the US 16gb model and now at office where there is no TMO signal -- only wifi is available. I shut off wifi on iPad and was able to successfully tether off the Moto G hotspot using bluetooth connection. It took a couple of times to pair the two devices but once linked, downloaded some emails, checked internet blogs, etc.

When I get home tonight, will try using just data service. I only have 500 mb limit before they throttle down on speed so curious how fast the connection will be.
6th January 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #5  
DigitalSnow's Avatar
Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 6
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
TMobile Simple Choice Plan Tethering
No issues (so far) with tethering on my Moto G using TMobile Simple Choice Plan.
7th January 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
OP, try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ight=tethering
7th January 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsm888

When I get home tonight, will try using just data service. I only have 500 mb limit before they throttle down on speed so curious how fast the connection will be.

Solid connection and skype audio worked perfectly.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes