Default Warning: the gallery app in kitkat can delete your photos if Google+ is disabled

If you click on the pinwheel button at the top of the gallery in certain viewer modes and Google+ is disabled, the gallery app goes out of its mind and deletes your photo, with no confirmation dialog to double-check. Your photo will be gone and unless you root and run a scan through your deleted files, you will not be able to recover it. This bug has been on the Android bug tracker for almost a month now, hopefully they fix it soon.