5,595,196 Members 45,671 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Picked up an Asus t100

Tip us?
 
paperWastage
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 636
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by madsquabbles View Post
i've just always had sensitive eyes- great night vision, but hate lots of light. my 64gb came with bios 220 preinstalled. it didnt have the 3A charger some are reporting coming with the new batches and with the 500GB version in EU.
3A charger? really?

tried a 2A charger on my asus, didn't seem to charge any faster. any link to someone who got a 3A charger?

plus the overheating issue that chromebooks had with 3A chargers http://www.pcworld.com/article/20811...urn-risks.html
Current Device:
Oppo Find 5 - experimental kernel
 
SixSixSevenSeven
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 304
Posts: 1,539
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage View Post
3A charger? really?

tried a 2A charger on my asus, didn't seem to charge any faster. any link to someone who got a 3A charger?

plus the overheating issue that chromebooks had with 3A chargers http://www.pcworld.com/article/20811...urn-risks.html
I doubt the charging circuit is ever capable of drawing 3A.

In electronics you dont force current around a circuit, the components draw current instead. If the circuit only draws 1.5A and is on a 5A supply, only 1.5A will be drawn from the supply.



I do have a 5A@5v supply somewhere.... utterly useless for tablets unless I want to charge 3 or 4 of them from on cable :P Nothing wrong with such high current supplies, the HP case was genuinely poor design chargers (underspecced regulator was my understanding)
 
madsquabbles
Old
(Last edited by madsquabbles; 4th January 2014 at 03:27 PM.)
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 249
Posts: 1,678
Join Date: Jan 2009
they've reported it on either the tabletpcreview forum or transformner forum. I didn't see any posts that verified that it pull 15watts or not. if the tablet doesn't request more than two amps then it's pretty useless to makes a 3 amp... unless it's a sign that future tablets will be and the 3 amp will be their new default OEM charger.

I swear I check the stock everyday hat my local Walmart and keep hearing the t100 calling me. I may just give in and repurchase.

one issue I did have with mine was that after my first round of windows updates my SD card reader acted up. after the next set of updates it worked fine. also, the charms bar only popped up if I swiped the top half in landscape mode.
 
FloatingFatMan
Old
#14  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 507
Posts: 2,591
Join Date: Apr 2005
The model with the 3A charger is mainly the EU one with the 500gb HD in the keyboard dock. Clearly, the extra amp is to power the HD whilst still charging the tablet. It's likely that 2A wasn't enough to charge whilst docked, otherwise.
Current Devices: Samsung Galaxy Note II (N7100), Acer Iconia Tab A511
Past Devices (too many to list, mostly Acers!)
 
docfreed
Old
#15  
docfreed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 741
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage View Post
the initial BIOS that came with the machine was indeed crap

new BIOS fixed a lot of the problems

I ordered a matte anti-glare screen protector... helps a lot with the low-brightness of the device (low brightness + glare = hard to read anything)
Where did you order the screen protector from? And WRT the BIOS - I just got my T100 yesterday - very nice indeed but I see that ASUS removed the 220 BIOS from their site - any thoughts as to why this might be?
 
paperWastage
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 636
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by docfreed View Post
Where did you order the screen protector from? And WRT the BIOS - I just got my T100 yesterday - very nice indeed but I see that ASUS removed the 220 BIOS from their site - any thoughts as to why this might be?
Got it from eBay, $9

2X Anti Glare Matte Screen Protector Guard Shield for ASUS VivoTab Smart ME400C

People say the vivotab has the same dimensions and layout as the Asus t100

Check the other Asus sites (global,america, Asia, Europe) sites... It probably is still there somewhere, dunno why Asus took it down. Maybe they found more bugs in the new release?
Current Device:
Oppo Find 5 - experimental kernel
 
FloatingFatMan
Old
#17  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 507
Posts: 2,591
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by docfreed View Post
Where did you order the screen protector from? And WRT the BIOS - I just got my T100 yesterday - very nice indeed but I see that ASUS removed the 220 BIOS from their site - any thoughts as to why this might be?
The 220 BIOS returned to their support site today.

http://www.asus.com/uk/Notebooks_Ult...pport_Download

Make sure you use WinFlash to flash it though, not EZ Flash.
Current Devices: Samsung Galaxy Note II (N7100), Acer Iconia Tab A511
Past Devices (too many to list, mostly Acers!)
 
docfreed
Old
#18  
docfreed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 741
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloatingFatMan View Post
The 220 BIOS returned to their support site today.

http://www.asus.com/uk/Notebooks_Ult...pport_Download

Make sure you use WinFlash to flash it though, not EZ Flash.
Thanks - I installed 220 this AM using Winflash.
 
KERKEDAGAIN
Old
(Last edited by KERKEDAGAIN; 7th January 2014 at 09:12 PM.)
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 1,143
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston
BTW..223 is now up (been running an unintentionally posted version for a few weeks and all's good)
I'm no Dev; but I am certainly no NOOB!
My e"Street Cred"

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more