Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Reset to default APN doesn't work on t-mobile

OP lehons

8th January 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
My wife has a Rogers Optimus G, in Canada. I have a Fido Nexus 4. We both got T-Mobile prepaid SIM cards for use on our frequent visits to the US. The problem I'm having is setting up the T-Mobile APN on the OG.

When I reboot my N4 with the TMobile SIM card in, it automatically sets up the correct APNs.
When my wife reboots her OG with the same TMobile SIM card, the APNs are blank. When I try to Reset APNs to default, nothing happens - the list stays blank. When we reboot the OG with a Canadian (Rogers or Fido) SIM card, it usually sets up the correct APNs on its own. On the rare occasion that it hasn't, Resetting APNs to default has worked.

I can manually create a new APN on her OG, copying the settings from my N4, but it's a tedious process, and moreover, it's not something my wife can really do when I'm not around.

Can anybody think of why this might be happening, or some sort of workaround? I've done a fair bit of searching, but haven't found anything.

She's leaving for Florida on Saturday, a solution before then would be great.

Thanks.
8th January 2014, 05:57 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 353
 
2,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
One option
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...NBackupRestore

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
8th January 2014, 02:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 2
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh

One option
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...NBackupRestore

Thanks, that looked perfect, except for this:
Quote:

NOTE: Starting with Android 4.0/ICS, 3rd Party apps don't have access to write APN settings, hence this app no longer works for restoring APN backups as a normal app. You can convert it to a System app using Titanium Backup on a rooted phone and use.

Any other suggestions?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
apn, optimus g, sim card, tmobile
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes