Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,535 Members 40,117 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] bricked from OTA

Tip us?
 
imucarmen
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 339
Join Date: May 2012
Exclamation [Q] bricked from OTA

My cousin took the ota on his rooted but stock phone and now it's stuck in recovery. I thought i would be able to fix it easy but sideload isn't working properly, nor can I get to download mode or the bootloader.

I tried flashing a rom several times with sideload but the phone just boots straight back into recovery once done. It goes through the steps fine with no errors but does not work.

I also tried restoring to stock but the phone won't go into download mode.

He has cwm 6.0.4.4

I did a little bit of reading earlier about it for him and saw that someone else had the same issue but with trwp. I read the post that he said solved his problem but I don't think that solution is possible with cwm.

Can someone please help because i'm out of ideas. Once I lose the ability to access download mode i'm a bit lost as what to do from there.

thanks
 
tatootie67
Old
#2  
tatootie67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 328
Join Date: Nov 2012
In twrp recovery, go to advanced settings and enter the terminal commands.
Type the following


dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
then hit enter
type
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/misc
then hit enter and reboot.


Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
 
imucarmen
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 339
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatootie67 View Post
In twrp recovery, go to advanced settings and enter the terminal commands.
Type the following


dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota
then hit enter
type
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/misc
then hit enter and reboot.


Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
Did you read my post?

He has cwm 6.0.4.4
 
tatootie67
Old
#4  
tatootie67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 328
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by imucarmen View Post
Did you read my post?

He has cwm 6.0.4.4
Yes, I am assuming cwm has a way of getting a terminal command open , sorry if it does not

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
 
imucarmen
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 339
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatootie67 View Post
Yes, I am assuming cwm has a way of getting a terminal command open , sorry if it does not

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
I'm not aware of how if it does. I personally use twrp and have been for awhile so cwm has become a little foreign to me. I browsed all over and couldn't find anything. He didn't even mean to take the update but rather than setting a new time he kept hitting back and eventually it decided take it on its own.
The Following User Says Thank You to imucarmen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tatootie67
Old
#6  
tatootie67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 328
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by imucarmen View Post
I'm not aware of how if it does. I personally use twrp and have been for awhile so cwm has become a little foreign to me. I browsed all over and couldn't find anything. He didn't even mean to take the update but rather than setting a new time he kept hitting back and eventually it decided take it on its own.
Hit thanks by accident.
You can do it through adb too assuming he can get his phone connected to a pc. That command has to be entered

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to tatootie67 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
imucarmen
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 339
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatootie67 View Post
Hit thanks by accident.
You can do it through adb too assuming he can get his phone connected to a pc. That command has to be entered

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
I just used adb shell and entered those commands and rebooted the phone and it went back to recovery.

Now I just sideloaded ose 4.4.2 again and it still just booted back to recovery.

do I have to do anything special with the phone in recovery for those commands to work?

adb reads the device fine and I can do all sorts of commands in adb with the phone and everything works.

There has to be a way to fix this phone.

Why am I unable to access download mode anymore?

Thanks for your help.
 
tatootie67
Old
#8  
tatootie67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 328
Join Date: Nov 2012
Did you get any error messages when you hit enter? Hopefully somebody with more knowledge chimes in here.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more