Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

I bricked or soft bricked my moto G PLEASE HELP

OP reeved

9th January 2014, 09:35 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Okay so, Im a noob at all this and this was my first attempt at unlocking the bootloader.

I followed a website and I tried unlocking the bootloader.
I thought I did it right.
So when the phone restarted, it went to the "Android is optimising" screen
I wasnt there when it happened but when i returned, there were all these popups saying everything crashed (clock, settings, ANDROID)
So i tried shutting it down and hoped that when i restarted it, it would do the optimising again and work
So i restarted, but as soon as the Motorola start screen finished ( the spinning globe thing) the whole phone would crash and would be stuck on a blank black screen.

I can still access the Fastboot screen thing by pressing the Volume down and Power buttons.

Is there anything i can do to fix it?
Please make it detailed or very simple because again, I AM A NOOB D:

PLEASE HELP ME D:
9th January 2014, 09:42 AM   |  #2  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,246
 
8,809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeved

Okay so, Im a noob at all this and this was my first attempt at unlocking the bootloader.

I followed a website and I tried unlocking the bootloader.
I thought I did it right.
So when the phone restarted, it went to the "Android is optimising" screen
I wasnt there when it happened but when i returned, there were all these popups saying everything crashed (clock, settings, ANDROID)
So i tried shutting it down and hoped that when i restarted it, it would do the optimising again and work
So i restarted, but as soon as the Motorola start screen finished ( the spinning globe thing) the whole phone would crash and would be stuck on a blank black screen.

I can still access the Fastboot screen thing by pressing the Volume down and Power buttons.

Is there anything i can do to fix it?
Please make it detailed or very simple because again, I AM A NOOB D:

PLEASE HELP ME D:

Go into recovery and do a data factory reset and clear the caches, that should solve the problem.
9th January 2014, 09:48 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
how?
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Go into recovery and do a data factory reset and clear the caches, that should solve the problem.


so how would i do that ??

sorry i told you i was a noob :P
9th January 2014, 10:42 AM   |  #4  
darkeingel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 89
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeved

so how would i do that ??

sorry i told you i was a noob :P

Have a look in here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537119 - all the questions and important news are there.

ALSO

You know that after you unlocked your bootloader all your data is gone? You can flash one of the 4.4 images available using one of the tutorials here on XDA (not a shaddy site on the interwebz)
9th January 2014, 10:47 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
moto g
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkeingel

Have a look in here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537119 - all the questions and important news are there.

ALSO

You know that after you unlocked your bootloader all your data is gone? You can flash one of the 4.4 images available using one of the tutorials here on XDA (not a shaddy site on the interwebz)

im sorry, do YOU know how to do it exactly???

and yea i made a backup of all my data (apps, phone stuff like contacts etc.)
9th January 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #6  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Portsmouth
Thanks Meter: 1,772
 
7,979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Reboot into bootloader, pick recovery, at the picture, press volume up and power at the same time, then use the volume keys to navigate the menu and power key to select.

Note that the recovery is actually broken and the option you have highlighted isn't actually the one that it will select, so you'll have to experiment a little to get the wipe data one.
9th January 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Did it but back at square ONE D:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty!

Reboot into bootloader, pick recovery, at the picture, press volume up and power at the same time, then use the volume keys to navigate the menu and power key to select.

Note that the recovery is actually broken and the option you have highlighted isn't actually the one that it will select, so you'll have to experiment a little to get the wipe data one.

Well, i did what you said, when the phone first restarted it got stuck at the globe part so i held power and restarted.
BUT it went to the android is optimising screen. Things were really looking up at that moment but to my luck, it showed the 'message' -.-

"Unfortunately, the process com.android.phone has stopped."

IM REALLY SAD D:

can you please help more?

thanks though because what you said worked just that a new problem came :P


EDIT: Okay so just after finishing the previous post ^ and going to bed ( cuz i live in NZ :P ) i kept doing your idea. after 2 or 3 tries IT WORKED DDD

So i tried making sure everything was working. I tried doing that "Motorola Protect Your Phone" thing that wont go from your notification screen unless you do it. But i couldnt because it said -

"The Phone radio is unable to connect to the network. Make sure the radio is on, or if it is on, move into an area with better coverage and try again."


So whats the radio?

I was assuming it was my thing which sends texts and calls but i could text just fine. Is it WiFi? because at the moment i dont have WiFi ;P

Im just getting a bit scared because i read somewhere ( idk where) that your phones radio could get ruined if you attempted to unlock the bootloader O:

Sorry for being so annoying :P

Thanks for helping me

PLEASE HELP AGAIN D:
Last edited by reeved; 9th January 2014 at 08:57 PM. Reason: Phone radio not working?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes