More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more
Post Reply

[Q] Probable softbrick (at least half)

OP bgbird

9th January 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

This Qualcom Secureboot: Enable - meaning bootloader is locked

Just as a matter of curiosity, EZ-Unlock reports the bootloader to be “unlocked”. Wonder what’s wrong with that?

So pretty much at this point it appears that the only thing that I can do is to ODIN the official 4.3 tar file or stay on the 4.1.2 file that I ODINed previously.
9th January 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #12  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,591
 
5,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgbird

Just as a matter of curiosity, EZ-Unlock reports the bootloader to be “unlocked”. Wonder what’s wrong with that?

So pretty much at this point it appears that the only thing that I can do is to ODIN the official 4.3 tar file or stay on the 4.1.2 file that I ODINed previously.

Are you rooted? if not it's not going to work.
9th January 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

This Qualcom Secureboot: Enable - meaning bootloader is locked

I am rooted - I'm sure of that...

I'm also running the latest TWRP recovery.

EZ-Unlock still lets me lock and unlock the bootloader.

I'm also thinking of flashing VRLE6.bootloader.zip, rebooting, doing an EZ-Unlock and seeing what happens.

If that doesn't work - I'll have to decide
1. do I f staying where I'm at - running 4.1.2 ?
or
2. Do I give up and take the softbrick tar file and lock everything up ?

I'm not sure of what are the pros and cons of either alternative
Last edited by bgbird; 9th January 2014 at 06:38 PM.
9th January 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #14  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,591
 
5,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgbird

EZ-Unlock still lets me lock and unlock the bootloader. I'm also thinking of flashing VRLE6.bootloader.zip, rebooting, doing an EZ-Unlock and seeing what happens.

If that doesn't work - I'll have to decide
1. do I f staying where I'm at - running 4.1.2 ?
or
2. Do I give up and take the softbrick tar file and lock everything up ?

I'm not sure of what are the pros and cons of either alternative

If you're not rooted, EZ unlock just report false results.
If you like to play with custom rom/kernel, meaning not bug free and become a flashcoholic then stay with 4.1.2
If you want a stable, no headache trouble free then upgrade to 4.3
I upgraded my wife to 4.3 and very happy with the results. Everything just work, performance is very good and smooth, gps locked in seconds...enough said.
9th January 2014, 07:28 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

If you're not rooted, EZ unlock just report false results.
If you like to play with custom rom/kernel, meaning not bug free and become a flashcoholic then stay with 4.1.2
If you want a stable, no headache trouble free then upgrade to 4.3
I upgraded my wife to 4.3 and very happy with the results. Everything just work, performance is very good and smooth, gps locked in seconds...enough said.

Even if I had to stay on 4.1.2 I'd want CleanRom7 at least. I used that since July when it came out. I liked the features and customizations. I'd like to continue to flash - however every time that I try ( and you can see the results earlier in the thread) the phone wouldn't boot. I think that some part of the OTA got on the phone. For a period of time, I was constantly nagged to take the upgrade. I think that my son answered "yes" and some part updated - until stopped Cleanrom.

Anyway I tried to reflash CleanRom as well as the non-locked ML1 item. Each time, Samsung flashes, then the ornamental Samsung SIII graphic just sits there. In a normal boot, that only lasts a second. Maybe I'll try it again and let sit there for an hour or two and see if something changes.
9th January 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #16  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,591
 
5,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgbird

Even if I had to stay on 4.1.2 I'd want CleanRom7 at least. I used that since July when it came out. I liked the features and customizations. I'd like to continue to flash - however every time that I try ( and you can see the results earlier in the thread) the phone wouldn't boot. I think that some part of the OTA got on the phone. For a period of time, I was constantly nagged to take the upgrade. I think that my son answered "yes" and some part updated - until stopped Cleanrom.

Anyway I tried to reflash CleanRom as well as the non-locked ML1 item. Each time, Samsung flashes, then the ornamental Samsung SIII graphic just sits there. In a normal boot, that only lasts a second. Maybe I'll try it again and let sit there for an hour or two and see if something changes.

If you are switch from rom to rom, you may have trash residuals. I would wipe cache/dalvik cache/data/system before I flash another rom (clean install), saved me a lot of little issues here and there...
9th January 2014, 08:14 PM   |  #17  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 768
 
1,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

If you are switch from rom to rom, you may have trash residuals. I would wipe cache/dalvik cache/data/system before I flash another rom (clean install), saved me a lot of little issues here and there...

Formatting your internal SD may also be needed, because 4.3 creates a 0/ folder that 4.1 doesn't have.

Alternatively, philz touch recovery has a 0/folder migration that will clear out that folder when switching.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
9th January 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #18  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername

Formatting your internal SD may also be needed, because 4.3 creates a 0/ folder that 4.1 doesn't have.

Alternatively, philz touch recovery has a 0/folder migration that will clear out that folder when switching.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

two questions?
1. Do you have a link for philz touch recovery?
2. If I format the internal SD - will an nandroid backup still work? I thought that that had to back into an identical file structure...

Also I do a factory reset each time that I flash.
I know that I'm root because EZ-Unlock requires it. If root isn't enabled - it terminates. When Root is enabled, SuperSU asks permission to do the unlock
Last edited by bgbird; 9th January 2014 at 08:43 PM.
9th January 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #19  
BadUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 768
 
1,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgbird

two questions?
1. Do you have a link for philz touch recovery?
2. If I format the internal SD - will an nandroid backup still work? I thought that that had to back into an identical file structure...

1.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2588639

2. No, The file structure gets completely replaced because a nandroid copies your internal sd card. It'll remake the folder structure.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
9th January 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #20  
landshark68's Avatar
Senior Member
Illinois
Thanks Meter: 568
 
1,023 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Just a quick question to cover all the bases. Which version of EZ Unlock are you using? Version 1.2 is the only one that actually works to unlock your bootloader.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank