Do You Check for App Updates Regularly?

Do you let app updates happen automatically or do you regularly check for them? We’re … more

Find The Best Apps With Google’s Picks & Other Tricks

The Google Play Store, weighing in with more than 1.4 million apps at last … more

Dynamic Pop for Note 4 (N910T & 910W8)

With the release of the Canadian Lollipop ROM for the Note 4, T-Mobile users can also enjoy the … more

Sunday Debate: Better to Buy Older or Newer Hardware?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on New vs. Old. Come with your opinions and feel … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

(q) ram usage

9th January 2014, 02:40 PM |#1  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 692
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
I upgraded from the galaxy nexus to the g2 and what I can't figure out is what is using all the ran on the g2 I have the same apps on the g2 as I did on my gnex but on the g2 uses almost a gig of ram where as the gnex only used half of that with all the same apps the only difference is the ROM and kernel could it be one of them using all the ram
 
 
9th January 2014, 03:39 PM |#2  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
2,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
i can see many more differences between these two devices lol. resolution being the most obvious one.

ill try explain with an example. u have a small house and feel comfortable there. then on top of that u build a 4x bigger house. and you would still live only in the small house. wouldnt it be better to use parts of the bigger house aswell ?
and not only the house grew but you as well.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by darkobas; 9th January 2014 at 03:47 PM.
9th January 2014, 03:50 PM |#3  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 692
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
That's what I sorta figured
Thanks
9th January 2014, 03:50 PM |#4  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 692
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
That's what I sorta figured just wasn't sure
Thanks
9th January 2014, 04:12 PM |#5  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,768
 
2,339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
yeah, nothing to worry about. 1gb used ram is pretty standard now.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
9th January 2014, 09:05 PM |#6  
jeremija8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag where
Thanks Meter: 55
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Unused ram is wasted ram

Sent from my GT-S6310N using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th January 2014, 09:27 PM |#7  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 439
 
2,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
The LG has 2GB of RAM, if your device uses 1.9GB, then start worrying. If it uses only half or 1.5GB, it is a good thing.
9th January 2014, 09:33 PM |#8  
TheAmaze's Avatar
Member
Flag Hochheim am Main
Thanks Meter: 5
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
U know,g2 has a much better gpu,processor and resolution etc and does and handles everything better(while sacrificing ram usage)

Sent from my MT27i using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes