FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

(q) ram usage

1,628 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I upgraded from the galaxy nexus to the g2 and what I can't figure out is what is using all the ran on the g2 I have the same apps on the g2 as I did on my gnex but on the g2 uses almost a gig of ram where as the gnex only used half of that with all the same apps the only difference is the ROM and kernel could it be one of them using all the ram
 
 
9th January 2014, 03:39 PM |#2  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,946
 
Donate to Me
More
i can see many more differences between these two devices lol. resolution being the most obvious one.

ill try explain with an example. u have a small house and feel comfortable there. then on top of that u build a 4x bigger house. and you would still live only in the small house. wouldnt it be better to use parts of the bigger house aswell ?
and not only the house grew but you as well.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by darkobas; 9th January 2014 at 03:47 PM.
9th January 2014, 03:50 PM |#3  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
That's what I sorta figured
Thanks
9th January 2014, 03:50 PM |#4  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
That's what I sorta figured just wasn't sure
Thanks
9th January 2014, 04:12 PM |#5  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,946
 
Donate to Me
More
yeah, nothing to worry about. 1gb used ram is pretty standard now.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
9th January 2014, 09:05 PM |#6  
jeremija8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag where
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Unused ram is wasted ram

Sent from my GT-S6310N using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th January 2014, 09:27 PM |#7  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 452
 
More
The LG has 2GB of RAM, if your device uses 1.9GB, then start worrying. If it uses only half or 1.5GB, it is a good thing.
9th January 2014, 09:33 PM |#8  
TheAmaze's Avatar
Member
Flag Hochheim am Main
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
U know,g2 has a much better gpu,processor and resolution etc and does and handles everything better(while sacrificing ram usage)

Sent from my MT27i using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes