Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,742 Members 37,479 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(q) ram usage

Tip us?
 
Robshr
Old
#1  
Robshr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 448
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Allentown

 
DONATE TO ME
Default (q) ram usage

I upgraded from the galaxy nexus to the g2 and what I can't figure out is what is using all the ran on the g2 I have the same apps on the g2 as I did on my gnex but on the g2 uses almost a gig of ram where as the gnex only used half of that with all the same apps the only difference is the ROM and kernel could it be one of them using all the ram
 
darkobas
Old
(Last edited by darkobas; 9th January 2014 at 03:47 PM.)
#2  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 567
Posts: 1,300
Join Date: Jan 2011
i can see many more differences between these two devices lol. resolution being the most obvious one.

ill try explain with an example. u have a small house and feel comfortable there. then on top of that u build a 4x bigger house. and you would still live only in the small house. wouldnt it be better to use parts of the bigger house aswell ?
and not only the house grew but you as well.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
 
Robshr
Old
#3  
Robshr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 448
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Allentown

 
DONATE TO ME
That's what I sorta figured
Thanks
 
Robshr
Old
#4  
Robshr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 448
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Allentown

 
DONATE TO ME
That's what I sorta figured just wasn't sure
Thanks
 
darkobas
Old
#5  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 567
Posts: 1,300
Join Date: Jan 2011
yeah, nothing to worry about. 1gb used ram is pretty standard now.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
 
jeremija8
Old
#6  
jeremija8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 171
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: where
Unused ram is wasted ram

Sent from my GT-S6310N using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
votinh
Old
#7  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 418
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Jul 2011
The LG has 2GB of RAM, if your device uses 1.9GB, then start worrying. If it uses only half or 1.5GB, it is a good thing.
Official CM10.1 Nightly @ 1000MHz NOOKcolor
Offiical CM11 KK Nightly on Kindle Fire 1st-Gen
Rooted Kindle Fire HD 8.9" w/ Nova Launcher
Virgin JB 4.3 on Sony Xperia Tablet Z
Stock ROM KK 4.4.2 on LG-D800

Virgin Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 - LOST
Slimbean 8.1 on Galaxy S2 i777 - LOST
 
TheAmaze
Old
#8  
TheAmaze's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hochheim am Main
U know,g2 has a much better gpu,processor and resolution etc and does and handles everything better(while sacrificing ram usage)

Sent from my MT27i using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...