Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Connect ALL THE THINGS with Xender

Smartphones, with all of their all connectivity options courtesy of OEMs, can easily connect themselves … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

(q) ram usage

OP Robshr

9th January 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #1  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 468
 
789 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
I upgraded from the galaxy nexus to the g2 and what I can't figure out is what is using all the ran on the g2 I have the same apps on the g2 as I did on my gnex but on the g2 uses almost a gig of ram where as the gnex only used half of that with all the same apps the only difference is the ROM and kernel could it be one of them using all the ram
9th January 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #2  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,028
 
1,575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
i can see many more differences between these two devices lol. resolution being the most obvious one.

ill try explain with an example. u have a small house and feel comfortable there. then on top of that u build a 4x bigger house. and you would still live only in the small house. wouldnt it be better to use parts of the bigger house aswell ?
and not only the house grew but you as well.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by darkobas; 9th January 2014 at 04:47 PM.
9th January 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #3  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 468
 
789 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
That's what I sorta figured
Thanks
9th January 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #4  
Robshr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Allentown
Thanks Meter: 468
 
789 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
That's what I sorta figured just wasn't sure
Thanks
9th January 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #5  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,028
 
1,575 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
yeah, nothing to worry about. 1gb used ram is pretty standard now.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
9th January 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #6  
jeremija8's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag where
Thanks Meter: 55
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Unused ram is wasted ram

Sent from my GT-S6310N using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th January 2014, 10:27 PM   |  #7  
votinh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 431
 
2,244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
The LG has 2GB of RAM, if your device uses 1.9GB, then start worrying. If it uses only half or 1.5GB, it is a good thing.
9th January 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #8  
TheAmaze's Avatar
Member
Flag Hochheim am Main
Thanks Meter: 5
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
U know,g2 has a much better gpu,processor and resolution etc and does and handles everything better(while sacrificing ram usage)

Sent from my MT27i using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes