Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,614 Members 44,082 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Trouble Mounting partitions

Tip us?
 
jrock256
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Exclamation [Q] Trouble Mounting partitions

Ok, so I'm a little new to all this, and I've learned enough to be dangerous. I'm working on a first generation Kindle Fire. I spent six hours last night on this issue. Previously, I had installed the stock android 2. something. Anyways it worked ok, but it is an outdated OS. I won this thing in a contest, after having it I would never buy one. Anyway, it has now become my kids toy. As many of you have experienced the default size for the data partition is too small. So I downloaded Fireparted. I couldn't get it to open, so I found out that the file extension belonged to Microsoft Visual studio. So I downloaded it, built the program and ran it. I read the partitions and set the sdcard to 1600Mb, the cache was left at 268, and took up the rest with the data partition. I ran the program, and it stopped, it stayed on the same screen for a while. I closed it all down, and reopened the program and it couldn't read the partitions. I saw on the fireparted forum that he added some program to help some glitch so I found that in the folder and dragged it into Visual studio. I then saw the play button clicked it, and it ran the program without the build thing, i couldn't find it again. Still couldn't read it, so I tried the 2008 version, no good. So, I went back the forums and found the one made by someone on here. It took me while to get it but this now what I get in the adb shell parted /dev/block/mmcblk0
Click image for larger version

Name:	parted print.png
Views:	309
Size:	246.7 KB
ID:	2494230

Everything seemed great, I mounted the sdcard, copied the rom jb-4.22-kfire-hashcode-2013 and the gapps for it to the sd card and was about to have an improved kindle. I went to wipe and I get these errors
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20140104_003.jpg
Views:	332
Size:	157.8 KB
ID:	2494228
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20140104_001.jpg
Views:	319
Size:	136.3 KB
ID:	2494229

Last night, I would get both the cache, and data errors.

I've tried going into adb shell and typing
mount data
and I get mounted to (a long file name ) failed, no such file or directory exist.

Now what is interesting is I got this for both data and cache, but cache is showing up now in adb shell mount command, when it wasn't last night. So, while I wait for an answer I need to remember what I did last night.

Anyway I seached and search last night, and i kept seeing sugestions to do a fastboot factory reset or something, I really don't want to start over, I know there is a simple answer, to make this fixed in five minutes.
Thanks for you time
Jeff
 
jrock256
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Update

Ok I have been able to mount the data by typing this in adb shell mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p10 data

Once I do this it mounts in recovery. once I do a wipe it can no longer be mounted. It seems I need to correct something so that it is more consistant. I was hoping if I flashed a rom it may cause this to be corrected at some point, however, all the roms I have gotten from hashtag, refuse to work, if I click verfy md5 it says its missing if I don't it has errors. Is this because of the data mount issue or something else?
 
jrock256
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Update

Ok, so I found some new information, if I fix this on my own, I plan to post that as well so that future people can find this. any way I learned about the command cat. In adb shell I typed cat /etc/fstab I get this
Click image for larger version

Name:	cat etc fstab.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	133.5 KB
ID:	2498358

it seems that I need to change
/dev/block/platform/mmci-omap-hs.1/by-name/userdata /data ext 4 rw

to this
/dev/block/mmcblkop10 data ext4 rw

The first line is what it says when I type mount /data
mounting /dev/block/platform/mmci-omap-hs.1/by-name/userdata on /data failed: no such file or directory
is the feed back

all the forums I found so far are written between people who already know all the commands. If some one could confirm or correct my thoery and give me the steps to take I would appreciate it. In the mean time I will continue my quest for answers on my own.
 
jrock256
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Update

Ok, so this is what I've been able to do

adb pull etc/fstab

I then edit in notepad
to

/dev/block/mmcblk0p11 /cache ext4 rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /sdcard vfat rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p9 /system ext4 rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 /sd-ext rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p10 /data ext4 rw

I then

adb push fstab etc

This worked, but once I do a wipe it removes

/dev/block/mmcblk0p10 /data/etx4 rw

and replaces with

/dev/block/platform/mmci-omap-hs.1/by-name/userdata /data ext4 rw (found via cat etc/fstab in the abd shell)

also system tends to come in and out, it seems the recovery agent needs to have the correct info put in.
 
Thepooch
Old
#5  
Thepooch's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,047
Posts: 2,459
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrock256 View Post
Ok, so this is what I've been able to do

adb pull etc/fstab

I then edit in notepad
to

/dev/block/mmcblk0p11 /cache ext4 rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /sdcard vfat rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p9 /system ext4 rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 /sd-ext rw
/dev/block/mmcblk0p10 /data ext4 rw

I then

adb push fstab etc

This worked, but once I do a wipe it removes

/dev/block/mmcblk0p10 /data/etx4 rw

and replaces with

/dev/block/platform/mmci-omap-hs.1/by-name/userdata /data ext4 rw (found via cat etc/fstab in the abd shell)

also system tends to come in and out, it seems the recovery agent needs to have the correct info put in.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1850038 and http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1949372
The Following User Says Thank You to Thepooch For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes