New AOSP Branch Details Potential Build System Upgrades?

While there are frequent unexplained changes and pushes to Google’s AOSP … more

Root Xperia Z3 Compact Tablet Without Losing DRM Keys

XDA Junior MemberCubicU07compiled this guide to root your Xperia Z3 Compact Tablet … more

Android Update Adoption Explained

This article explains how Android differs from iOS on update adoption and how it can affect … more

Xiaomi’s Maps Cause Internet Drama

At the launch of Xiaomi’s latest Mi4 phone in Delhi, Xiaomi CEO Hugo Barra presented a map of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

TWRP Question

OP xceebeex

10th January 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
588 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

I haven't really followed this thread's progression so forgive me, but you can just tap the bar where it reads "Backup Name: (Auto Generate)" to manually change your TWRP backup names. It's not immediately obvious but its there.

Yea, I understand that, but I don't understand why it is adding stuff like userdebug and a bunch of other stuff automatically when the older version didn't. Then on top of that, while it appears like it worked and I could see the files using ES Explorer, when I hooked it up to my laptop, it wasn't even seeing the TWRP top level folder on the SD Card.
10th January 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #12  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,058
 
5,629 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xceebeex

Yea, I understand that, but I don't understand why it is adding stuff like userdebug and a bunch of other stuff automatically when the older version didn't.

I guess this is a difference of opinion then cuz I don't see it as an issue.

Quote:

Then on top of that, while it appears like it worked and I could see the files using ES Explorer, when I hooked it up to my laptop, it wasn't even seeing the TWRP top level folder on the SD Card.

Can you view the rest of your internal storage on your laptop? I mean the exact same directory as to where your TWRP storage is located? You are running a KitKat rom which changes the internal storage directories from /sdcard to /0/sdcard (JB 4.3 does as well) so I'd guess that might have something to do with it. I always use Airdroid to transfer files to/from my laptop and I see my newly constructed internal storage fine. I have a MBP so I don't really have a native way to connect my S3 to my laptop to test it out which is why I use AirDroid.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes