Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] kfhd missing storage space

OP moiragreen

3rd January 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
i put twrp on my kindle form this thread:
[REF] Installing Kindle Fire HD 7" 2nd-Bootloader + TWRP Complete Tutorial
after that my free storage is reduced to 2 gb. when i look under device/ storage somthing called "others" using up 10 gb. i redid the whole thing still the same. what should i do?
3rd January 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #2  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 610
 
2,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
What's the exact path to the folder you are referring to? All twrp does is flash the recovery partition, and 2nd boot loader doesn't really use up any space since its not exactly a physical file if I remember right, I believe it's stored in the kernel.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD running CM10.1 Tablet UI using xda-developers app
4th January 2014, 02:43 AM   |  #3  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 425
 
1,746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by moiragreen

i put twrp on my kindle form this thread:
[REF] Installing Kindle Fire HD 7" 2nd-Bootloader + TWRP Complete Tutorial
after that my free storage is reduced to 2 gb. when i look under device/ storage somthing called "others" using up 10 gb. i redid the whole thing still the same. what should i do?

You probably had this issue before modding. Restore back to complete factory status and then let your tablet update automatically (OTA.) This should fix the issue.
6th January 2014, 01:18 AM   |  #4  
mrkhigh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
772 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I'm willing to bet if you poke around you will find a twrp backup folder they are typically 2 gigs and don't show up right in the used space

Sent from my XT907 using xda app-developers app
9th January 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513

What's the exact path to the folder you are referring to? All twrp does is flash the recovery partition, and 2nd boot loader doesn't really use up any space since its not exactly a physical file if I remember right, I believe it's stored in the kernel.


I was misleading with using the slash. I ment 'Storage' under 'Device' in kindle settings.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LinearEquation

You probably had this issue before modding. Restore back to complete factory status and then let your tablet update automatically (OTA.) This should fix the issue.

After twrp, i modded with Kinology. Issue remained. Did a hundred reset, whipe cash, dalvik cash, ect. Still not working. Restored the whole thing with KFHD_SRTv1.3.5 option 1, thats restore back to stack whith root (without root option did not work, it kept saying device cannot boot). I think that was 7.3.1. Updated to 7.4.6, put twrp with fireflash and again there was a whole lot of nothing using 10 gigs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkhigh

I'm willing to bet if you poke around you will find a twrp backup folder they are typically 2 gigs and don't show up right in the used space

Sent from my XT907 using xda app-developers app


Poked around a lot looking for files like that, I found twrp backup folder whitch was empty, I booted in twrp and scavenged for hidden files, nothing came up like there wouldn't be anything except system.

I really would miss twrp, becase it allowed me to use Kinology which fullfilled my every need that I have for a tablet. Still dont want to sacrifice 10 gb for it. Is it possible that fireflash somehow partitioned it? Sorry if I ask stupid questions. I'm close to a surgeon when it comes to my kindle: I read a lot about it, only understood the half of it but doing it anyway.
10th January 2014, 05:38 AM   |  #6  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 425
 
1,746 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by moiragreen

Did a hundred reset, whipe cash, dalvik cash, ect. Still not working. Restored the whole thing with KFHD_SRTv1.3.5 option 1, thats restore back to stack whith root (without root option did not work, it kept saying device cannot boot). I think that was 7.3.1. Updated to 7.4.6, put twrp with fireflash and again there was a whole lot of nothing using 10 gigs.

Do a complete factory reset and then wait for an OTA update. Then this will fix it. You must let an OTA update happen. Get ris of root, the whole nine yards.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes