Post Reply

[Q] Cache and Data mount issues

OP DSpartox

10th January 2014, 04:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
So I've been using various JB ROM's on my Defy for the past couple of years, but this time I made the mistake of using the factory reset within the stock recovery. I found a thread that mentioned using the "ultimate wipe" for defy and then reflashing my ROM of choice would fix issue, but when I use the wipe the custom recovery still tells me it is unable to mount /cache or /data on my phone.

My phones internal storage is also showing as 0, so I am unable to install any apps etc.

I'm completely stumped right now, so any help at all would be greatly appreciated. I'll provide any further information I can if its needed, thanks in advance (:
10th January 2014, 05:26 AM   |  #2  
hotdog125's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 392
 
939 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSpartox

So I've been using various JB ROM's on my Defy for the past couple of years, but this time I made the mistake of using the factory reset within the stock recovery. I found a thread that mentioned using the "ultimate wipe" for defy and then reflashing my ROM of choice would fix issue, but when I use the wipe the custom recovery still tells me it is unable to mount /cache or /data on my phone.

My phones internal storage is also showing as 0, so I am unable to install any apps etc.

I'm completely stumped right now, so any help at all would be greatly appreciated. I'll provide any further information I can if its needed, thanks in advance (:

I think you need to start over from SBF.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
10th January 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 551
 
824 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSpartox

So I've been using various JB ROM's on my Defy for the past couple of years, but this time I made the mistake of using the factory reset within the stock recovery. I found a thread that mentioned using the "ultimate wipe" for defy and then reflashing my ROM of choice would fix issue, but when I use the wipe the custom recovery still tells me it is unable to mount /cache or /data on my phone.

My phones internal storage is also showing as 0, so I am unable to install any apps etc.

I'm completely stumped right now, so any help at all would be greatly appreciated. I'll provide any further information I can if its needed, thanks in advance (:

Your partitions might have a problem and the wipe script doesn't format them, it just deletes their contents. In the bootmenu you can format your /data and /cache partitions (ext4); if that doesn't work, then yes, gotta start over from SBF.
10th January 2014, 11:23 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antiga Prime

Your partitions might have a problem and the wipe script doesn't format them, it just deletes their contents. In the bootmenu you can format your /data and /cache partitions (ext4); if that doesn't work, then yes, gotta start over from SBF.

Thank you heaps for the help. I just decided to go ahead and reflash SBF. That all went fine, RSDlite gave a pass. I then went into the stock recovery in order to do the factory reset again before I root, and Data now formats, but Cache throws up the error "E:Can't mount CACHE:recovery/log".

The actual phone seems to work fine if I boot it up, but that error just makes me wonder as I'm not sure how much of a problem it really is
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes