ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Clean Your Recent Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

In this day and age, you have quite a few apps installed and running on your Android … more

Android Studio Reaches Release Candidate Status

Android app developers have a few options when comes to Android IDEs. One of the most … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Nexus 7 (2012) Timur's USB ROM - DAC / audio question

OP treps_92boy

10th January 2014, 02:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hi there,

I've searched but haven't been able to find an answear. To get the audio out from a Nexus 7 (2012) with Timur's USB ROM I need a DAC. But I can just find DAC's with one set of RCA and I need two. Can I use two DAC's from the USB-hub?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by treps_92boy; 10th January 2014 at 03:04 PM.
10th January 2014, 04:45 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I looked for dacs with 4 RCA outs and none exist as you have found.

You cannot use 2 DACs simultaneously,

Just use a splitter. In my system I daisy chain between amps and use a splitter, no issues.
10th January 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppmcbiggs

I looked for dacs with 4 RCA outs and none exist as you have found.

You cannot use 2 DACs simultaneously,

Just use a splitter. In my system I daisy chain between amps and use a splitter, no issues.

Hmm, doesn't I loses sound quality with a spliter? Because RCA is analogy. What kind of splitter do I need? I want 3 RCA sets (2x3 red/white).
Last edited by treps_92boy; 10th January 2014 at 05:56 PM.
10th January 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by treps_92boy

Hmm, doesn't I loses sound quality with a spliter? Because RCA is analogy. What kind of splitter do I need? I want 3 RCA sets (2x3 red/white).

Are you installing this in a car?

Do your amps not have loop outs?

If you are really worried about SQ then maybe a line driver, or crossover or eq would make you more comfortable.

I will tell you that with my system my sound has never been better. I have had high end Alpine and top of the line JVC head units. They don't come close to my DAC.

As long as you make sure all your cables are shielded you should not have any SQ issues. I don't typically recommend monster products but, besides all their other marketing BS, at least their cables are shielded and they are easy to find. Just make sure you buy shielded cables.
13th January 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
What kind of splitter?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppmcbiggs

Are you installing this in a car?

Do your amps not have loop outs?

If you are really worried about SQ then maybe a line driver, or crossover or eq would make you more comfortable.

I will tell you that with my system my sound has never been better. I have had high end Alpine and top of the line JVC head units. They don't come close to my DAC.

As long as you make sure all your cables are shielded you should not have any SQ issues. I don't typically recommend monster products but, besides all their other marketing BS, at least their cables are shielded and they are easy to find. Just make sure you buy shielded cables.

Yes, it's for my car (Toyota Corolla T-SPORT -04).

Hmm, doesn't know what that is, sorry newbie here. :P

Okey, shielded cables, right. What kind of slitter do you use or recommend? Name or can you link to a picture please?

Thanks in advance.
13th January 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I spent some time searching amazon for products for you but I am not yet allowed to post links.

Search amazon for these terms:

Splitter:
Monster ILJRY-1

EQ:
Clarion EQS746

Crossover:
Clarion MCD360


Quote:
Originally Posted by treps_92boy

Yes, it's for my car (Toyota Corolla T-SPORT -04).

Hmm, doesn't know what that is, sorry newbie here. :P

Okey, shielded cables, right. What kind of slitter do you use or recommend? Name or can you link to a picture please?

Thanks in advance.

The Following User Says Thank You to ppmcbiggs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thumbs up THANKS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppmcbiggs

I spent some time searching amazon for products for you but I am not yet allowed to post links.

Search amazon for these terms:

Splitter:
Monster ILJRY-1

EQ:
Clarion EQS746

Crossover:
Clarion MCD360

Thank you very very much!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes