Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more

Big Android BBQ 5.0 Recap – XDA TV

This fifth annual Big Android BBQ has come and gone. The speakers have spoke, the sponsors have … more

Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more
Post Reply

Charging, 1A, 1.5A, 2A?

OP krugm0f0

9th January 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #1  
krugm0f0's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tromsų
Thanks Meter: 47
 
347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
So, I got this USB charging hub which connects directly to the wall socket. It outputs 0.8A on two sockets, 1A also on two sockets, 1.5A and 2A.

Click image for larger version

Name:	1389306867542.jpg
Views:	417
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	2505306

What will my HTC One prefer? On stock rom 0.8A gives you a slow charging warning, 1A is same as stock charger. Will 1.5A or 2A do any harm, or just charge my battery a lot faster?

Anyone?

Sent from XDA Premium, using my HTC KitKat One.
10th January 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 973
 
3,671 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by krugm0f0

Will 1.5A or 2A do any harm, or just charge my battery a lot faster?

Neither.

It will still draw up to 1A whilst charging.
10th January 2014, 11:48 AM   |  #3  
krugm0f0's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tromsų
Thanks Meter: 47
 
347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenPope

Neither.

It will still draw up to 1A whilst charging.

So it's limited to 1A when charging?
10th January 2014, 11:59 AM   |  #4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,005
 
6,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krugm0f0

So it's limited to 1A when charging?

check this thread, in particular post #6: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2392522
10th January 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #5  
krugm0f0's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tromsų
Thanks Meter: 47
 
347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

check this thread, in particular post #6: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2392522

Thanks a dozen, so it doesn't matter what Ampere I use as long as it's 500mA++ though seeing 800mA giving "slow charge" notification in sense, I'd go with at least 1A
10th January 2014, 06:11 PM   |  #6  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,005
 
6,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krugm0f0

Thanks a dozen, so it doesn't matter what Ampere I use as long as it's 500mA++ though seeing 800mA giving "slow charge" notification in sense, I'd go with at least 1A

mine are all 1+ (even though I'm using old chargers too, but the lowest is 1A), and never get a "slow charge" notification, so yep recommend to go with 1+ chargers.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes