5,599,616 Members 43,824 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help with bricked HTC One

Tip us?
 
Ogre77497
Old
#31  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rosenberg, Texas
I think you're right. Luckily the phone does charge. I get a "fastboot AC" message when it's plugged in, so I've got time to work with it.

I haven't had a chance to try your instructions from a couple of messages back. I've got an older Dell laptop (Inspiron 1520 I think) that I installed Ubuntu 12.04 on, and I keep losing my wired internet connection. Haven't been able to get wireless working either. It seems to work fine until I update then there's nothing in the 'available network connections".

You know, there's probably some simple software fix that HTC could apply in 10 seconds. That's what's frustrating to me (and being out $600).

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhite View Post
To do that, he would have to get OTG working and TWRP is broken on that. I don't think he can flash PhilZ either. I think we are screwed until we get a usable recovery on the beast.
 
rootlinux
Old
#32  
rootlinux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2503
Posts: 3,110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cleveland

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogre77497 View Post
My nandroids were all on the phone .. like a dumb ass ..

I think you're right about the partition and mounting.

Only recovery I have is TWRP 2.6.3 which is installed. When I try installing anything else I get .. "remote image update error".
That is the message I got as well.

---------- Post added at 03:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdhite View Post
To do that, he would have to get OTG working and TWRP is broken on that. I don't think he can flash PhilZ either. I think we are screwed until we get a usable recovery on the beast.
I was able to reflash the same TWRP over the broken one.
Might be able to clear TRWP settings and try again.
Nothing to see here
 
Ogre77497
Old
#33  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rosenberg, Texas
"fastboot: command not found"

then do a fastboot devices (presuming you're in fastboot on the phone).

what's that give?[/QUOTE]
 
tdhite
Old
#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1500
Posts: 814
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: DFW

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogre77497 View Post
"fastboot: command not found"

then do a fastboot devices (presuming you're in fastboot on the phone).

what's that give?
[/QUOTE]

Ok, sounds like you didn't setup the PATH as per my previous post. Just do this:

PATH+=~/bin/android-sdk-linux/tools
PATH+=~/bin/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools
export PATH
sudo su
fastboot devices

Also -- did you add the udev rule I sent?

and worry about internet later -- we don't need it right now.
 
Ogre77497
Old
#35  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rosenberg, Texas
I did add the udev rule.

fastboot devices gives one line ..
"FS-bunch of numbers fastboot"

adb devices lists no devices

Ok, sounds like you didn't setup the PATH as per my previous post. Just do this:

PATH+=~/bin/android-sdk-linux/tools
PATH+=~/bin/android-sdk-linux/platform-tools
export PATH
sudo su
fastboot devices

Also -- did you add the udev rule I sent?

and worry about internet later -- we don't need it right now.[/QUOTE]
 
tdhite
Old
#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1500
Posts: 814
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: DFW

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
fastboot devices gives one line ..
"FS-bunch of numbers fastboot"

adb devices lists no devices
We're at fastboot, ( should see fastboot (usb) ) so only the fastboot command is interesting. So, on the "fastboot devices" command, which is what we *really* want right now and I think you're talking!

So, just to be sure, the 'bunch of numbers' should be your device serial id. That we see that means we're talking to the phone finally, and we have fastboot working, I believe.

Ok, so @rootlinux was suggesting the possibility TRWP is bad. The question is, can we reflash TWRP and get a good recovery. So to test that first, let's see if fastboot works at all -- try to "fastboot reboot-bootloader" and see if that takes us back into the bootloader.

After that, I'd think we come back to fastboot (usb) and see if we can reboot to RUU "fastboot oem rebootRUU" but don't run to that yet.

I'm hoping @rootlinux chimes in -- he had just this scenario and should have good insight right now.
The Following User Says Thank You to tdhite For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootlinux
Old
#37  
rootlinux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2503
Posts: 3,110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cleveland

 
DONATE TO ME
If you can oem push TRWP that might help.
You may also be able to sideload a Stock Rom.
Flashing that may help.
Not sure as I had to restore nandroid.
Might see if you can get to the point of getting a nandroid back onto that device.
Wondering if usb storage might work. I don't have the cable here to test it.
Nothing to see here
 
tdhite
Old
#38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1500
Posts: 814
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: DFW

 
DONATE TO ME
I was thinking. If we can flash a recovery, we can get PhilZ working, in which case we have OTG.

Think? We are currently screwed without a recovery or the ability to RUU.
 
rootlinux
Old
#39  
rootlinux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2503
Posts: 3,110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cleveland

 
DONATE TO ME
So he can get into recovery but can't flash, correct?

---------- Post added at 12:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:20 AM ----------

Wondering if this might work.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1526316
Nothing to see here
 
Ogre77497
Old
#40  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rosenberg, Texas
Default Thanks to Everyone

After 2 more weeks of racking my brain, and applying every suggestion given, I gave up.

T-Mobile took my Sprint HTC One in trade. T-Mobile is also paying my early termination fees. It's a new program announced at CES earlier in the week.

Now I have a T-Mobile HTC One and my business is back up and running.

Thank you to everyone that tried getting my phone unbricked.

You guys are fantastic.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes