Post Reply

trying to use my note 2 on tmobile help.

9th January 2014, 08:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
So i decided to switch from verizon to tmobile. i would like to know how can i get it to work on that network? what would i have to do? i tried changing the apn settings and all i get is edge? is this right? when they welcome you bringing your phone over...my phone is rooted and i am using the Cleanrom ACE 5.0 tmobile version...should i switch it back to the verizon verison and try again? thanks for your help in advanced.
9th January 2014, 09:22 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Hows tmobile in your area? You might only get edge cause the service isn't as fast. I dunno. Other people changesdthe apns and have good enough speeds. There are a couple threads about this.
9th January 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag SE AZ
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Just did it!
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshow20

So i decided to switch from verizon to tmobile. i would like to know how can i get it to work on that network? what would i have to do? i tried changing the apn settings and all i get is edge? is this right? when they welcome you bringing your phone over...my phone is rooted and i am using the Cleanrom ACE 5.0 tmobile version...should i switch it back to the verizon verison and try again? thanks for your help in advanced.

What did you change the apn settings to? (from where?)

The ones on the tmobile site don't work. I had to go to the t-mobile store and look at the settings on the Galaxy Note 3

The APN type is default,mms,supl - note there is no space.

Netowrk Mode is GSM/UMTS.


Good Luck.
9th January 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TX_Jax

What did you change the apn settings to? (from where?)

The ones on the tmobile site don't work. I had to go to the t-mobile store and look at the settings on the Galaxy Note 3

The APN type is default,mms,supl - note there is no space.

Netowrk Mode is GSM/UMTS.


Good Luck.

mind sharing those settings? all i get is 3g now and some h+ but the bars are pretty low...and i cant even connect to the play store at all.
9th January 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag SE AZ
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshow20

mind sharing those settings? all i get is 3g now and some h+ but the bars are pretty low...and i cant even connect to the play store at all.

This won't solve low connectivity . . .

The T-Mobile settings are here: http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-2383

The difference for me was APN type = default,mms,supl

Now, I had 3G at the T-Mobile shop, but at work I am getting only Edge.

Good Luck.
10th January 2014, 09:17 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
For what it's worth, I have had success with an type:
default, mms, suppl, fota, hipri

Sent from my SCH-I605 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes