Post Reply

[Q] Digitizer replacement

8th January 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
My phone has developed a digitizer problem in that a vertical strip (approx 15mm) is completely unresponsive, and sometimes the screen goes a bit haywire (continously zooms in when web browsing or in a document). Have tried resetting the phone, and reflashing the ROM, but the problem persists.

Does anyone have any experience when with regards to replacing the digitizer, and would like to share their experiences? I.e. Is there anything which I should be made aware of, such as specific rookie errors? Have looked up some Youtube videos, so I think I'm fairly clued up, but thought I'd call in on the experts before I take the plunge!
8th January 2014, 11:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1591399

check this thread
The Following User Says Thank You to overboard1978 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
not recommend replace digitizer at this moment it cast too many $$$, Asus CES2014 announce $99 smart phone.
9th January 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecjan

not recommend replace digitizer at this moment it cast too many $$$, Asus CES2014 announce $99 smart phone.

They look nice the zenfone that is will have to buy a sd card for it down side no internal memory or atleast none you can use. besides that actually looks very nice. wonder how long before you can buy one right now it says ask dealer about availability so im guessing 3 to 6 months. digitizer $15.00 and then he can sell phone for $50 to $75 dollars if he chooses to later once it finally hits stores
9th January 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Córdoba
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,052 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yeah, but with sd cards being inexpensive (I just got a 8gb class 4 microsd for $50, about U$S10) it isn't really a downside. If you maage to get an replacement for the digitizer, buy it. as overboard says, you can sell the phone at a higher price if you decide to buy another.

OP, I had the same problem, I warn you, once you detach the digitizer from the phone, before you actually remove it, dettach the lcd also, that way, when you must remove the flex and pass it through, the gap will be larger and you wont have to bend the flex, avoiding the risk of damaging it. Digitizer and lcd are meant to be extracted together. Also, be very careful when you detach the digitizer, as dointg it hard can remove the glue strips and let the dust enter the screen. that's what happened to mine, glue strips got broken at the bottom corners, and now the capacitive buttons' light pass thru it, to the screen and dust enters and I can't see sh*t
Last edited by andresrivas; 9th January 2014 at 12:18 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to andresrivas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th January 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Thanks guys. From what I've read, most people appear to experience problems either during or after the upgrade, so even though a replacement digitizer should only set me back £15, it could be more hassle that it's worth...

This could be a good opportunity to upgrade
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes