Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,957 Members 54,423 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Google service+problems

Tip us?
 
Hulk0069
Old
#21  
Hulk0069's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 937
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr View Post
Yes, you do have adblock installed.
Should I disable it? Could that be my problem but why would that block Google service?


Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
 
buhohitr
Old
#22  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,522
Posts: 5,188
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulk0069 View Post
Should I disable it? Could that be my problem but why would that block Google service?


Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
I don't know if that related to your issue, but you can make a backup of the file then replace the hosts file with the original found here http://www.mediafire.com/view/jezgxfzphqox045/hosts Reboot once done.
 
Hulk0069
Old
#23  
Hulk0069's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 937
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr View Post
I don't know if that related to your issue, but you can make a backup of the file then replace the hosts file with the original found here http://www.mediafire.com/view/jezgxfzphqox045/hosts Reboot once done.
So how would I do this sorry been a . While since I tinkerd with my phone.Do I use root explorer then switch them out and reboot?I also have a older version of Google service in my titanium backup.
Should I restore the older one or try the host swap

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
 
dpeeps74
Old
#24  
dpeeps74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 174
Posts: 870
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin
Yeah, make the folder r/w using root explorer, rename hosts to hosts.bak and then copy in the default hosts file. You may need to match the permissions on the file to match the other too.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Hulk0069
Old
#25  
Hulk0069's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 937
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeeps74 View Post
Yeah, make the folder r/w using root explorer, rename hosts to hosts.bak and then copy in the default hosts file. You may need to match the permissions on the file to match the other too.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Ok thanks will try

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more