5,599,677 Members 46,206 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Downgrade T999V Baseband

Tip us?
 
Nightstalker1993
Old
#21  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by marty136 View Post
You can't downgrade once you've installed 4.3 because of new bootloader and knox that was installed with it, I have been to heaven and hell to downgrade mine because i was having big problems with T999VVLUEMK5 but after hardbricking mine trying to do so, i de-hardbricked it with a debrick image 4.3 created by a xda member here, i successfully installed the new T999VVLUEML2 and now phone works perfectly. So people who say it is easy to downgrade from the locked 4.3 bootloader must be very good cause i sent mine to repair shop and they said it was impossible at the time(mid december 2013).
My two cents
Seems like I have no choice but to pay for the unlock. So with 4.3 and the new bootloader which includes the KNOX protection, downgrading is pretty much a bitch eh. So in the end how did you managed to downgrade it? If you did in the end that is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
I believe he's trying to downgrade the Baseband AKA Modem. I don't think he wants to downgrade the Bootloader. Unfortunately both are identically named so easy to confuse.
I'm guessing the 4.3 official OTA update updates the bootloader and firmware as well and the new bootloader doesn't support basebands from earlier builds? Not too sure, making a random guess here.
 
Perseus71
Old
#22  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2326
Posts: 4,148
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightstalker1993 View Post
I'm guessing the 4.3 official OTA update updates the bootloader and firmware as well and the new bootloader doesn't support basebands from earlier builds? Not too sure, making a random guess here.
Yes that seems to be the case. I thought it was unlikely but your experience says otherwise.
 
marty136
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
That is what i think exactly. By the way i did not succeed in downgrading it, i was simply lucky that samsung released a small update for the s3 during the long time that i worked on this problem and now it runs perfect with new version. Someone on another forum suggested to just go with a custom rom and it would be fine, beleive me i tried, failing at every attempt i don't thing some people understand the reel ramifications of this new bootloader that won't let you do what you want anymore. This is the new more ''secure'' android that samsung concocted for us small people.
 
Nightstalker1993
Old
#24  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
Yes that seems to be the case. I thought it was unlikely but your experience says otherwise.
Quote:
Originally Posted by marty136 View Post
That is what i think exactly. By the way i did not succeed in downgrading it, i was simply lucky that samsung released a small update for the s3 during the long time that i worked on this problem and now it runs perfect with new version. Someone on another forum suggested to just go with a custom rom and it would be fine, beleive me i tried, failing at every attempt i don't thing some people understand the reel ramifications of this new bootloader that won't let you do what you want anymore. This is the new more ''secure'' android that samsung concocted for us small people.
So looks like I can't downgrade just the baseband itself from 4.3 and also downgrading the whole firmware to something other than a 4.3 is hopeless as well eh due to the new bootloader even if it's a custom rom? If custom roms will work then I don't mind flashing a custom rom as well, but reading Marty's experience kinda makes me scared in downgrading....
 
Perseus71
Old
#25  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2326
Posts: 4,148
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Oh Custom AOSP Roms will work just fine. Custom Kernels as well.

Take care and read if using Modified Touchwiz Roms.
 
Nightstalker1993
Old
#26  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
Oh Custom AOSP Roms will work just fine. Custom Kernels as well.

Take care and read if using Modified Touchwiz Roms.
Oh wait, i forgot. The unlock exploit only works on stock 4.1.1 firmware/baseband. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more