Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HELP!!!! Where did my backups go?

OP CaptnCaveman

8th January 2014, 11:08 PM   |  #1  
CaptnCaveman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag in a house
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
First off, i'm not a noob to flashing roms, only on my SGS3. My other phone is a rooted HTC Inspire 4G running Jellytime 4.2. Ok, down to my problem. I've been on my stock rooted rom since i rooted it last year and have not attempted to play with roms until recently. So yeah, I backed up all my apps and system data before I flashed omni rom and superSU for the d2att SGS3 i747. After flashing and setting phone back up, i realized that ALL my backups were completely gone from titanium backup. It said the backups were never made What did i do wrong?? Was there a step i missed in order for my backups to transfer over to new rom on the SGS3? Is there a special way to set up titanium backup for the SGS3?? Thank god i still have my nandroid backup in rom manager. PLEASE HELP!!!!!
Last edited by CaptnCaveman; 9th January 2014 at 12:34 AM.
9th January 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #2  
BCSC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Westminster
Thanks Meter: 154
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptnCaveman

First off, i'm not a noob to flashing roms, only on my SGS3. My other phone is a rooted HTC Inspire 4G running Jellytime 4.2. Ok, down to my problem. I've been on my stock rooted rom since i rooted it last year and have not attempted to play with roms until recently. So yeah, I backed up all my apps and system data before I flashed omni rom and superSU for the d2att SGS3 i747. After flashing and setting phone back up, i realized that ALL my backups were completely gone from titanium backup. It said the backups were never made What did i do wrong?? Was there a step i missed in order for my backups to transfer over to new rom on the SGS3? Is there a special way to set up titanium backup for the SGS3?? Thank god i still have my nandroid backup in rom manager. PLEASE HELP!!!!!

In Titanium press menu button and select preferences. In the next menu select default back up location. You will have a button here that says 'detect'. If they exist on your phone or SD card this will find them. Have you searched in both sdcard/ and sdcard/0/? In the future you can set the default location to External SD which will save it incase of a need to full wipe. TiBu also does have a feature to restore from Nandroid.
The Following User Says Thank You to BCSC For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #3  
CaptnCaveman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag in a house
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSC

In Titanium press menu button and select preferences. In the next menu select default back up location. You will have a button here that says 'detect'. If they exist on your phone or SD card this will find them. Have you searched in both sdcard/ and sdcard/0/? In the future you can set the default location to External SD which will save it incase of a need to full wipe. TiBu also does have a feature to restore from Nandroid.

If I set up titanium backup w/ dropbox for my backups, will that be better than sending my backups to SD card and risk losing them again?
9th January 2014, 08:01 AM   |  #4  
BCSC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Westminster
Thanks Meter: 154
 
406 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptnCaveman

If I set up titanium backup w/ dropbox for my backups, will that be better than sending my backups to SD card and risk losing them again?

I have never tried the Dropbox option, but in theory it should work. If it does work, it would be better to have it off device, and you should be able to schedule it to auto backup whenever you want.
10th January 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #5  
CaptnCaveman's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag in a house
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSC

I have never tried the Dropbox option, but in theory it should work. If it does work, it would be better to have it off device, and you should be able to schedule it to auto backup whenever you want.

sweet. Thanks for the help. Very much appreciated. I'm gonna try setting up dropbox w/ titanium. i'll let you know how it goes.
11th January 2014, 04:57 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
You did try the detect option mentioned above? Did you wipe internal storage?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes