FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

MJA question

11th January 2014, 06:46 PM |#1  
Parkourkid93's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hollis
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
I have the latest MJA, rooted, with KNOX tripped, most of the TW ROMs I see on our GS4 section says (MK2) does that mean I wouldn't be able to flash them on my device knowing that I'm MJA?, or is the label just written as that to say that its a 4.3 ROM without the KNOX boot loader?, orrrrrr I don't know, im confused on this whole KNOX thing

×Rebel Nation×
Last edited by Parkourkid93; 11th January 2014 at 06:52 PM.
 
 
11th January 2014, 07:39 PM |#2  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,836
 
More
You can flash those Roms because when you wipe your phone you essentially wipe the MJA firmware and install MK2.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to daniel4653 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 08:57 PM |#3  
frostedunit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Nati
Thanks Meter: 301
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653

You can flash those Roms because when you wipe your phone you essentially wipe the MJA firmware and install MK2.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

Not quite. You erase the MJA SOFTWARE when you flash a MK2 ROM. To change the FIRMWARE to MK2 would require the use of Odin.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to frostedunit For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 08:58 PM |#4  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,836
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostedunit

Not quite. You erase the MJA SOFTWARE when you flash a MK2 ROM. To change the FIRMWARE to MK2 would require the use of Odin.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

confused software with firmware. my bad. I know what I'm saying though.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to daniel4653 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 09:35 PM |#5  
Parkourkid93's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hollis
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
So that won't mess with anything that has to do with KNOX correct?

☆Rebel Nation☆
12th January 2014, 12:54 AM |#6  
frostedunit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Nati
Thanks Meter: 301
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel4653

confused software with firmware. my bad. I know what I'm saying though.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

I know that you know what you're talking about. You're one of the most helpful guys on here. Just busting your balls a little bit.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Parkourkid93

So that won't mess with anything that has to do with KNOX correct?

☆Rebel Nation☆

If you've already tripped the Knox counter, whatever you do now will have no effect on it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to frostedunit For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 01:33 AM |#7  
Parkourkid93's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Hollis
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostedunit

I know that you know what you're talking about. You're one of the most helpful guys on here. Just busting your balls a little bit.







If you've already tripped the Knox counter, whatever you do now will have no effect on it.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

Well that shines some light then , thanks a lot to everyone who responded

×Rebel Nation×
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes