FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Nexus 7 ART runtime help

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By Smithy5995, Junior Member on 11th January 2014, 02:17 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello, I recently successfully unlocked the boot loader and rooted my device running stock Android 4.4.2 but I'm having a problem with the Dalvik and ART runtimes. I've read that when you change over from Dalvik to ART it takes about 20 minutes to change everything as ART requires about 10% more space for each app. But my problem is that whenever I click on "Use ART" and my tablet reboots, nothing happens. It turns off and boots up like normal without any changes, so I looked in the options and nothing changed. I'm still using Dalvik. I've tried this process a few times but still it boots up with Dalvik.
I have 3.5GB of space left on my device with about 8GB used so I don't know if that causing it not work or whether because I've rooted my device.

Any help would be appreciated
 
 
11th January 2014, 06:45 PM |#2  
meekrawb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Katy, TX
Thanks Meter: 996
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithy5995

Hello, I recently successfully unlocked the boot loader and rooted my device running stock Android 4.4.2 but I'm having a problem with the Dalvik and ART runtimes. I've read that when you change over from Dalvik to ART it takes about 20 minutes to change everything as ART requires about 10% more space for each app. But my problem is that whenever I click on "Use ART" and my tablet reboots, nothing happens. It turns off and boots up like normal without any changes, so I looked in the options and nothing changed. I'm still using Dalvik. I've tried this process a few times but still it boots up with Dalvik.
I have 3.5GB of space left on my device with about 8GB used so I don't know if that causing it not work or whether because I've rooted my device.

Any help would be appreciated

Are you using Xposed? Can't use ART if you are.
The Following User Says Thank You to meekrawb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2014, 10:28 PM |#3  
TheCraig's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Helloooooooooooooo
Thanks Meter: 188
 
More
It could be Xposed.. the developer said Xposed relies on Dalvik, and it requires basically an entire rewrite to even test if its work porting to ART.

By the way I've switched from Dalvik to Art and so forth a few times now (I don't have Xposed) and I've had no issues. I prefer ART though.
The Following User Says Thank You to TheCraig For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 01:06 AM |#4  
LinearEquation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Midwest
Thanks Meter: 432
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCraig

It could be Xposed.. the developer said Xposed relies on Dalvik, and it requires basically an entire rewrite to even test if its work porting to ART.

By the way I've switched from Dalvik to Art and so forth a few times now (I don't have Xposed) and I've had no issues. I prefer ART though.

Using Xposed with Art will most likely end in a bootloop. Art is faster but still a bit in Googles experimental phase.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to LinearEquation For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 03:03 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinearEquation

Using Xposed with Art will most likely end in a bootloop. Art is faster but still a bit in Googles experimental phase.

Sent from my Nexus 7 Flo running Odex SinLess ROM 4.4.2 with ElementalX kernel using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

The latest version of Xposed forces you back to Dalvik if you attempt to enable ART.
The Following User Says Thank You to Saythis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th January 2014, 10:14 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thanks
Thanks for the replies everyone. I am using Exposed. I think I'll just keep using Dalvik for the moment instead of going through the hassle of deleing Xposed
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes