Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Preventing Hotspot Data Tracking.

OP Necrodox

9th January 2014, 08:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
So let's say you have unlimited data but don't want to pay for a mobile hotspot add-on. You find a work around and manage to enable the hotspot.

My question is regarding how this data is tracked, are they two separate entries or is the data compiled into one big chunk and recognized as a total number of GB's?

If the hotspot data is tracked separately is there a way to disable this feature to hide the fact that you have a hotspot?

Thanks in advance.
9th January 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Depends how far Verizon wants to look into it. On a network layer side of things, mac address is a dead giveaway.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
9th January 2014, 11:53 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 322
 
1,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhasty01

Depends how far Verizon wants to look into it. On a network layer side of things, mac address is a dead giveaway.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app

So is the TTL in the packet.
If they do packet inspection they can tell.
On the other hand, if you tether via BT they have a harder time.
10th January 2014, 09:21 AM   |  #4  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 187
 
955 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
How much tethering are you planning to do? I use up to 10gb a month sometimes. Someone posted they constantly use up to 100gb's a month...even saw a guy where he used 900gb's in a month. Yes, 900gb. You should be fine.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
12th January 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
I figured I wouldn't have an issue, my one friend wants to do this on his iPhone. I haven't had issues using the hotspot for a max of 10GB per month so no worries on my end.

Thanks for the replies guys.
12th January 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #6  
jcwilliams's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Ive used 80gb before in a month and I am currently at about 65gb for my cycle. Ive never been contacted or looked into (knock on wood). I might add that a verizon rep did see the usage at the local store and said wow but that was it.
Youll be fine.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes