Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,052 Members 43,188 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REQUEST] Stock Recovery under KitKat doesn't start

Tip us?
 
rapunzel11
Old
#21  
rapunzel11's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Here is the solution. Boot into fastboot menu, choose 'recovery' with volume down and then press volume up. If you see the lying Android Robot press and hold the power button and both volume buttons together for 2 seconds and release them again. Seems to be a bug under KitKat, because under JB I was able to boot into recovery directly from fastboot menu.
Sent from my Nexus 7 2013 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to rapunzel11 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gee2012
Old
(Last edited by gee2012; 10th January 2014 at 10:47 AM.)
#22  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,005
Posts: 8,226
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Or open cmd (as administrator) and type: adb reboot recovery if the \android-sdk\platform-tools\ are installed on the PC.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
Unofficial elelinux/albinoman CM 11.0 (4.4.4) Ktoonsez KT kernel
 
rapunzel11
Old
#23  
rapunzel11's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012 View Post
Or open cmd (as administrator) and type: adb reboot recovery if the \android-sdk\platform-tools\ are installed on the PC.
This also doesn't work for me. It only boot up to green Android Robot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 2013 using xda app-developers app
 
gee2012
Old
#24  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,005
Posts: 8,226
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapunzel11 View Post
This also doesn't work for me. It only boot up to green Android Robot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 2013 using xda app-developers app
Hmm, works perfectly for me bro, it boots straight into recovery.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
Unofficial elelinux/albinoman CM 11.0 (4.4.4) Ktoonsez KT kernel
 
rapunzel11
Old
#25  
rapunzel11's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Really strange....! Get on monday a brand new Moto G for my sister. After the update to KitKat I will test the same procedure.

Sent from my Nexus 7 2013 using xda app-developers app
 
gee2012
Old
#26  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,005
Posts: 8,226
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapunzel11 View Post
This also doesn't work for me. It only boot up to green Android Robot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 2013 using xda app-developers app
When you see that screen first press volume up and then tap the power button and you`ll get into recovery bro.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
Unofficial elelinux/albinoman CM 11.0 (4.4.4) Ktoonsez KT kernel
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rapunzel11
Old
#27  
rapunzel11's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012 View Post
When you see that screen first press volume up and then tap the power button and you`ll get into recovery bro.
Thats right! But is this normal or is it a bug? Because under JB it boots up straight from fastboot menu


Sent from my Nexus 7 2013 using xda app-developers app
 
Rusty!
Old
#28  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,751
Posts: 7,918
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth
It's normal
Google Nexus 5 on Three UK
 
rapunzel11
Old
#29  
rapunzel11's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 248
Join Date: Feb 2011
'It is not a bug it is a feature'

But it is really a bug and Motorola knows about it. Under KitKat you can't boot directly from fastboot menu into stock recovery.
I'm really surprised that only a few people has noticed it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more

Prevent Apps from Locking Screen Orientation with HaveOwnOrientation

Most applications on Android play nicely with both landscape and … more