Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

[Q] Need help recovering my S3 -- TWRP ADB Sideload not working

12th January 2014, 06:24 AM   |  #61  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Oh, you're using hyperdrive...not good..OK, let start give this a try, you do have the latest twrp right? if you do let wipe cache/dalvik cache/data/system/ and format sd. then install carbon.

yeah this rom is borked BAD. I had to dirty flash it over itself like 5x just to get it to work to begin with.
I am on the latest twrp.
format /data worked, and I have a OS again.

I have done a wipe of dalvik, system, data, internal storage, and cache + format /data and still get the errors.
I've done all the above probably 10-15 times in the last 48 hrs. the only progress I've made is I got the MF1 radio installed from internal sd after placing the newer version of update-binary in it, and re-zipping it.

I installed PhilZ recovery (latest version) the night before last and got errors from there on out. I've flashed back to twrp via recovery, odin, and goo.im since. (I tried a couple different versions between 2.5.x and now back to 2.6.3.1)

Edit: I've also put the newer update-binary in the carbon, pac, and gapps zips but still nothing. Tried flashing from internal and external.
Last edited by cjmcsw87; 12th January 2014 at 06:28 AM.
12th January 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #62  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,528
 
5,200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmcsw87

yeah this rom is borked BAD. I had to dirty flash it over itself like 5x just to get it to work to begin with.
I am on the latest twrp.
format /data worked, and I have a OS again.

I have done a wipe of dalvik, system, data, internal storage, and cache + format /data and still get the errors.
I've done all the above probably 10-15 times in the last 48 hrs. the only progress I've made is I got the MF1 radio installed from internal sd after placing the newer version of update-binary in it, and re-zipping it.

I installed PhilZ recovery (latest version) the night before last and got errors from there on out. I've flashed back to twrp via recovery, odin, and goo.im since. (I tried a couple different versions between 2.5.x and now back to 2.6.3.1)

Any more issue??
12th January 2014, 06:45 AM   |  #63  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Any more issue??

I'll give it another shot real quick..

---------- Post added at 01:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:33 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Any more issue??

error executing updater binary

I appreciate the advice thank you. I'm going to call it a night though I'll try something else tomorrow maybe a old 4.2backup and see if its just a 4.3 issue with me.
Last edited by cjmcsw87; 12th January 2014 at 06:51 AM.
12th January 2014, 02:12 PM   |  #64  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,950
 
5,471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmcsw87

I'll give it another shot real quick..

---------- Post added at 01:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:33 AM ----------



error executing updater binary

I appreciate the advice thank you. I'm going to call it a night though I'll try something else tomorrow maybe a old 4.2backup and see if its just a 4.3 issue with me.

Would you mind posting the file names of each rom zip that you attempted to flash but failed?

Edit: Do you have the same issue when using the latest CWM?

Edit 2: I see in the below thread that you're flashed to PagePlus which you have not mentioned in this thread that I'm writing in. Would that have any bearing on your flashing issues? Since the rom is for d2vzw and you're on another carrier, wouldn't your build.prop be causing this? Does your build.prop say Verizon or d2vzw for ro.product.name or ro.product.device?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2605733

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
Last edited by SlimSnoopOS; 12th January 2014 at 02:35 PM.
12th January 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #65  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

Would you mind posting the file names of each rom zip that you attempted to flash but failed?

Edit: Do you have the same issue when using the latest CWM?

Edit 2: I see in the below thread that you're flashed to PagePlus which you have not mentioned in this thread that I'm writing in. Would that have any bearing on your flashing issues? Since the rom is for d2vzw and you're on another carrier, wouldn't your build.prop be causing this? Does your build.prop say Verizon or d2vzw for ro.product.name or ro.product.device?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2605733

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

Sure. Files are : CARBON-JB-NIGHTLY-20131117-0726-d2vzw.zip , pac_d2vzw-nightly-20131231.zip , d2vzw_VRBMF1_firmware.zip (flashed successfully from internal memory with new update-binary file) , CARBON-JB-NIGHTLY-20131027-0812-d2vzw.zip , gapps-jb-20130813-signed.zip

ro.product.model=SCH-I535
ro.product.brand=Verizon
ro.product.name=d2vzw
ro.product.device=d2vzw

if you want i can email you the recovery log, it's not letting me upload on here though.

---------- Post added at 01:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:36 PM ----------

I haven't tried the latest CWM I try to stay away from cwm if I can. I figured if PhilZ didn't work it probably wouldn't either.
13th January 2014, 12:39 AM   |  #66  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

Would you mind posting the file names of each rom zip that you attempted to flash but failed?

Edit: Do you have the same issue when using the latest CWM?

Edit 2: I see in the below thread that you're flashed to PagePlus which you have not mentioned in this thread that I'm writing in. Would that have any bearing on your flashing issues? Since the rom is for d2vzw and you're on another carrier, wouldn't your build.prop be causing this? Does your build.prop say Verizon or d2vzw for ro.product.name or ro.product.device?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2605733

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

tried flashing with the latest cwm touch and it also didn't work.

loading transferring zips to internal memory now and i'll give that a shot.

I also was unable to flash carbon 1.8 (4.2.2) so I'm not sure whats going on. I may need to Odin a complete MF1 img and unlock/root/recovery and start fresh I guess. I really hope it doesn't interfere with my PagePlus flash
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank