Post Reply

Adhoc networking

OP GigabitP

12th January 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #1  
GigabitP's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Well I been helping my sick aunt and she doesn't have WiFi and my phone does not have service so I depend on WiFi. Well I tried to create an adhoc network and my phone sees the network but can't connect. I have heard tell that adhoc is not able to be connected too but searching around has not found an exact result. I have the CyanogenMod Mod 10.2 android 4.3.1 on my phone. I did see something about a WPA supplement fix. Is there a fix for this and if so how. Would be great to be put on the proper course. And I did search. But I didn't find a thread regarding this.
13th January 2014, 12:17 AM   |  #2  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GigabitP

Well I been helping my sick aunt and she doesn't have WiFi and my phone does not have service so I depend on WiFi. Well I tried to create an adhoc network and my phone sees the network but can't connect. I have heard tell that adhoc is not able to be connected too but searching around has not found an exact result. I have the CyanogenMod Mod 10.2 android 4.3.1 on my phone. I did see something about a WPA supplement fix. Is there a fix for this and if so how. Would be great to be put on the proper course. And I did search. But I didn't find a thread regarding this.

When you say you created an ad-hoc network, do you mean you are trying to have a laptop that is connected to a wired network broadcast its wi-fi so your phone can connect by wi-fi to the laptop (and thus the internet)?
13th January 2014, 07:35 AM   |  #3  
GigabitP's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

When you say you created an ad-hoc network, do you mean you are trying to have a laptop that is connected to a wired network broadcast its wi-fi so your phone can connect by wi-fi to the laptop (and thus the internet)?

Used my dlink dwa-130 USB dongle to create an adhoc network on a desktop computer. The desktop has a satellite connection. I was trying to share the connection from the desktop over the adhoc network to my phone with internet connection sharing. But my phone can't connect to the network but sees the security type and ssid.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes