Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Xperia Home Redraw

OP SleemLDJ

6th January 2014, 05:06 AM   |  #1  
SleemLDJ's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 485
 
2,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Hi guys. I've noticed ever since I got the Xperia z1 that the Xperia home launcher acts weird after quitting certain applications.

When I exit an application to go to the homescreen, all apps shortcuts and widgets would have disappeared and would then begin to load up after 2 seconds. Which sucks of a phone with such a highest spec.

Is this a ram issue which isn't keeping the home launcher in RAM memory?

Of a 2 GB ram, I always have only about 250 MB free. I don't know what's taking the ram up so much.

Anything I can do?



Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
6th January 2014, 10:50 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
1,012 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Info 2
Been using my phone for about a week now never had a single. Redraw

Which rom are you on and what apps have you got running in the background?

250mb? Are you kidding me? I have 700-850mb free ram typically
6th January 2014, 07:29 PM   |  #3  
SleemLDJ's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 485
 
2,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raziel123

Been using my phone for about a week now never had a single. Redraw

Which rom are you on and what apps have you got running in the background?

250mb? Are you kidding me? I have 700-850mb free ram typically

I aint using any custom rom.
My bootloader is locked, not rooted and I am on the. 290 (4.3)

The ram is surprising. Most of my apps are using 58mb, 30mb, 20mb and lower. But i still have about 1350mb in use at times. No games on background.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
6th January 2014, 09:14 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 152
 
1,012 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimldj

I aint using any custom rom.
My bootloader is locked, not rooted and I am on the. 290 (4.3)

The ram is surprising. Most of my apps are using 58mb, 30mb, 20mb and lower. But i still have about 1350mb in use at times. No games on background.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk

I would recommend reverting back to 4.2.2 .257 Stock rom,

I tried 4.3 .290, it gobbles way too much ram, no idea why.

I'm waiting for Kitkat 4.4 before I upgrade the rom.

regards
6th January 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #5  
SleemLDJ's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 485
 
2,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raziel123

I would recommend reverting back to 4.2.2 .257 Stock rom,

I tried 4.3 .290, it gobbles way too much ram, no idea why.

I'm waiting for Kitkat 4.4 before I upgrade the rom.

regards

Honestly I think I will do same. Reverting back to. 257 for now.
Still smooth anyways.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
7th January 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Read around, there is a big thread here with partial solution its a big with 4.3

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to shteren For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #7  
djg269's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
I too had redraws the last few days, and remembered that i didnt had them in the beginning. Started to think what could caused it and thought what was changed...

I went to Settings-Developers options and unchecked "Dont keep activities".

No redraw, checked it and there it was again.

sent from a Rooted & Unlocked Xperia Z1
Last edited by djg269; 13th January 2014 at 01:26 AM.
13th January 2014, 01:45 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Delft
Thanks Meter: 67
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
The redraw could be a problem in the Sony launcher it self, I had the same problem with Action Launcher, but now is solved.

The way Android uses RAM, the free ram doesn't mean anything, to get a better performance avoiding to compile an app you use very often, Android keeps recent opened apps in RAM as long as the RAM is not needed, when something else claims the RAM Android will "close" some apps to free RAM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes