5,598,297 Members 47,807 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Xperia Home Redraw

Tip us?
 
slimldj
Old
#1  
slimldj's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London
Default [Q] Xperia Home Redraw

Hi guys. I've noticed ever since I got the Xperia z1 that the Xperia home launcher acts weird after quitting certain applications.

When I exit an application to go to the homescreen, all apps shortcuts and widgets would have disappeared and would then begin to load up after 2 seconds. Which sucks of a phone with such a highest spec.

Is this a ram issue which isn't keeping the home launcher in RAM memory?

Of a 2 GB ram, I always have only about 250 MB free. I don't know what's taking the ram up so much.

Anything I can do?



Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
Sony Xperia Z1 Honami
ROM: iHackers
KERNEL: Stock
 
raziel123
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 911
Join Date: Apr 2010
Been using my phone for about a week now never had a single. Redraw

Which rom are you on and what apps have you got running in the background?

250mb? Are you kidding me? I have 700-850mb free ram typically
Latest device :Z1 PureStock. V2.0 android 4.4.2 back on Snapdragon 800

Kernel : Doomkernel V15

settings 300 mhz to 1.958 ghz, Intelithermal enabled, Interactive Governor

Old device : Galaxy S2 sold! Xperia S Sold! Xperia SP Sold! S3 I9305 sold
 
slimldj
Old
#3  
slimldj's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by raziel123 View Post
Been using my phone for about a week now never had a single. Redraw

Which rom are you on and what apps have you got running in the background?

250mb? Are you kidding me? I have 700-850mb free ram typically
I aint using any custom rom.
My bootloader is locked, not rooted and I am on the. 290 (4.3)

The ram is surprising. Most of my apps are using 58mb, 30mb, 20mb and lower. But i still have about 1350mb in use at times. No games on background.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
Sony Xperia Z1 Honami
ROM: iHackers
KERNEL: Stock
 
raziel123
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 911
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimldj View Post
I aint using any custom rom.
My bootloader is locked, not rooted and I am on the. 290 (4.3)

The ram is surprising. Most of my apps are using 58mb, 30mb, 20mb and lower. But i still have about 1350mb in use at times. No games on background.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
I would recommend reverting back to 4.2.2 .257 Stock rom,

I tried 4.3 .290, it gobbles way too much ram, no idea why.

I'm waiting for Kitkat 4.4 before I upgrade the rom.

regards
Latest device :Z1 PureStock. V2.0 android 4.4.2 back on Snapdragon 800

Kernel : Doomkernel V15

settings 300 mhz to 1.958 ghz, Intelithermal enabled, Interactive Governor

Old device : Galaxy S2 sold! Xperia S Sold! Xperia SP Sold! S3 I9305 sold
 
slimldj
Old
#5  
slimldj's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 375
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by raziel123 View Post
I would recommend reverting back to 4.2.2 .257 Stock rom,

I tried 4.3 .290, it gobbles way too much ram, no idea why.

I'm waiting for Kitkat 4.4 before I upgrade the rom.

regards
Honestly I think I will do same. Reverting back to. 257 for now.
Still smooth anyways.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
Sony Xperia Z1 Honami
ROM: iHackers
KERNEL: Stock
 
shteren
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 500
Join Date: Jul 2013
Read around, there is a big thread here with partial solution its a big with 4.3

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to shteren For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
djg269
Old
(Last edited by djg269; 13th January 2014 at 12:26 AM.)
#7  
djg269's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 306
Join Date: Sep 2009
I too had redraws the last few days, and remembered that i didnt had them in the beginning. Started to think what could caused it and thought what was changed...

I went to Settings-Developers options and unchecked "Dont keep activities".

No redraw, checked it and there it was again.

sent from a Rooted & Unlocked Xperia Z1
Groeten Dirk

Unlocked & Rooted Xperia Z1
 
Luinwethion
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 121
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Delft
The redraw could be a problem in the Sony launcher it self, I had the same problem with Action Launcher, but now is solved.

The way Android uses RAM, the free ram doesn't mean anything, to get a better performance avoiding to compile an app you use very often, Android keeps recent opened apps in RAM as long as the RAM is not needed, when something else claims the RAM Android will "close" some apps to free RAM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...