FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

ADB Drivers

2,246 posts
Thanks Meter: 136
 
By AndyCr15, Senior Member on 7th January 2014, 07:36 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I don't see any other threads, so is it just me struggling to install working ADB drivers?

The zip file I found in another thread made out like it was installed, but apparently not...

Any tips?
 
 
7th January 2014, 10:20 PM |#2  
Harfainx's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
10101010
Donate to Me
More
Windows 7/8? The drivers that I posted in the dev thread should work.

If you're on Windows 8 though, you'll have to reboot in that insecure driver installation mode thing.

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
7th January 2014, 10:22 PM |#3  
AndyCr15's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 136
 
Donate to Me
More
Win 7 64 bit. I think I'm using the right ones, don't quite understand why it can't be seen

It shows up in Device Manager in which ever of the 3 ones I try, but when I try 'adb devices' nothing shows.
Last edited by AndyCr15; 7th January 2014 at 10:24 PM.
8th January 2014, 02:16 AM |#4  
Harfainx's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,262
 
10101010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyCr15

Win 7 64 bit. I think I'm using the right ones, don't quite understand why it can't be seen

It shows up in Device Manager in which ever of the 3 ones I try, but when I try 'adb devices' nothing shows.

You try "ADB Composite Device" or something along those lines? When you run that one it should be good.

When you download the zip, you should just extract the whole thing. Then after that I find the driver manually instead of having it search the folders. Are you selecting the android_winusb.inf for the driver?

I'm on the same OS for my main desktop and I do a lot of my work with the N1 on there using those drivers. Are you using normal command prompt in the platform-tools folder? I don't use anything other than command prompt for adb, so I'm not sure about those picking it up.

Sorry if that isn't any help, but I'm not sure what would stop it from picking it up after you use those drivers.
8th January 2014, 02:26 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 406
 
More
the other threads zip file works fine with my win 64. Are you going through a usb hub? That can mess it up

Sent from my N1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th January 2014, 07:50 AM |#6  
AndyCr15's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 136
 
Donate to Me
More
No, no hub. Yep, doing all as I should. I'll try a different cable and different port though.
12th January 2014, 07:34 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Linux
ADB not working on Ubuntu 13.10. No issue with fastboot. When I do ADB devices, it doesn't return anything at all aside from "List of devices attached" with a blank space underneath.

Curiously, even after enabling USB debugging I am never given the RSA popup asking me to confirm access. I'm guessing the two are related but even after revoking previous confirmations via the Developer Menu, I still can't get it to pop up.
12th January 2014, 05:39 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 406
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mybrotherischad

ADB not working on Ubuntu 13.10. No issue with fastboot. When I do ADB devices, it doesn't return anything at all aside from "List of devices attached" with a blank space underneath.

Curiously, even after enabling USB debugging I am never given the RSA popup asking me to confirm access. I'm guessing the two are related but even after revoking previous confirmations via the Developer Menu, I still can't get it to pop up.

I recently got this going on Ubuntu 12 on VIrtualBox.
I have to start the adb server as root to get it working, i.e sudo adb start-server,
before I do 'adb devices'.

Also if you use VIrtualBox don't forget to add the usb filter for adb mode too.
13th January 2014, 03:06 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChodTheWacko

I recently got this going on Ubuntu 12 on VIrtualBox.
I have to start the adb server as root to get it working, i.e sudo adb start-server,
before I do 'adb devices'.

Also if you use VIrtualBox don't forget to add the usb filter for adb mode too.

Running natively. No luck doing it as root.
Last edited by mybrotherischad; 13th January 2014 at 03:27 PM. Reason: Removing screenshot
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes