Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Have MDL, have root, have zero idea how to get 4.3

OP DRRies

13th January 2014, 12:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Hello all,

I have had my S4 for awhile now and need some help. When I first received it, I did some reading, rooted, did something that removed a triangle or a padlock, can't remember which one and made sure the AT&T software update was unable to run. At the time, custom recovery wasn't possible so I stopped there. So here I am now, rooted with MDL and I have no idea where to go from here to get the latest 4.3, although apparently I have the holy grail of firmware.

I've read as much as I possibly can, subscribed to the forums, GOOGLED, SEARCHED, RTFM and waited for someone else to come along and ask the very same question. Some did but those threads never really gave me the info I need to SAFELY flash my phone up to 4.3. So what do I do? All I need is some guidance, I follow directions well. Teach me! Please and Thank You

Doug
13th January 2014, 01:02 AM   |  #2  
ted77usa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag Fog City
Thanks Meter: 3,905
 
2,408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
DO NOT UPDATE YOUR FIRMWARE IF YOU STILL HAVE MDL. ....U JUST NEED INSTALL CWM RECOVERY OR TWRP RECOVERY. .... AND THEN INSTALL CUSTOM 4.3 ROM. .... EVEN 4.4 KITKAT ROM. ..... BUT IF U DO UPDATE TO NEWEST MK2 FIRMWARE THEN U WOULD LOSE THE PRIVILEGE OF MDL..... WHICH IS RARE. ..... GOODLUCK

Swyped from MK2 Deadly Venom SS
The Following User Says Thank You to ted77usa For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Right! One of the things I have learned is that I want to keep the MDL baseband. What I really want are all the improvements that 4.3 or 4.4 offer. Also, I'm hoping my Pebble and my S4 play better together than they do now.

Do I just pick a recovery? Are they the same? Guess I need to read some more.


Sent from somewhere...
13th January 2014, 01:50 AM   |  #4  
ted77usa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag Fog City
Thanks Meter: 3,905
 
2,408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRRies

Right! One of the things I have learned is that I want to keep the MDL baseband. What I really want are all the improvements that 4.3 or 4.4 offer. Also, I'm hoping my Pebble and my S4 play better together than they do now.

Do I just pick a recovery? Are they the same? Guess I need to read some more.
Sent from somewhere...

This one click tool is pretty awesome. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2297033... .. Super easy as 1.2.3.... and have everything u need. ......root....CWM or TWRP recovery and even flash to stock via Odin. ... Hope this work for u and hit THANK button If someone helped you. ...

Swyped from MK2 Deadly Venom SS
13th January 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 643
 
1,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRRies

Hello all,

I have had my S4 for awhile now and need some help. When I first received it, I did some reading, rooted, did something that removed a triangle or a padlock, can't remember which one and made sure the AT&T software update was unable to run. At the time, custom recovery wasn't possible so I stopped there. So here I am now, rooted with MDL and I have no idea where to go from here to get the latest 4.3, although apparently I have the holy grail of firmware.

I've read as much as I possibly can, subscribed to the forums, GOOGLED, SEARCHED, RTFM and waited for someone else to come along and ask the very same question. Some did but those threads never really gave me the info I need to SAFELY flash my phone up to 4.3. So what do I do? All I need is some guidance, I follow directions well. Teach me! Please and Thank You

Doug

As ted said, upgrading is bad. You can change modems and such to the MK2 baseband, it's the bootloader that's the issue. As long as you don't try to take any OTA's and don't ODIN any newer version you'll be fine. If you want to run the official AT&T 4.3, your closest bet is StockUp MK2 and the rebloat addon. Otherwise, you can choose either CWM or TWRP and flash away as long as you remember to use the loki patch for things that aren't patched already.
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
I've read the info at the link you provided before and wondered if I'm already rooted, what would happen? Is that safe to use if currently rooted?

Also, since I'm currently on MDL, would a factory reset return me to a fresh MDL or would it force me to update to current software?
13th January 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,769
 
10,775 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Start here. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=42320391
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2014, 02:15 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Ok so I strated with the thread posted. I now have TWRP installed, nandroid backed up and all sorts of zips on my ext card. Also made Kies backups. My first ROM flash, Stockup_MK2 went fine until reboot and I had no mobile data or cell signal. What did i do wrong? I immediately did a restore from the nandroid backup to return to where was before.
14th January 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #9  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,769
 
10,775 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRRies

Ok so I strated with the thread posted. I now have TWRP installed, nandroid backed up and all sorts of zips on my ext card. Also made Kies backups. My first ROM flash, Stockup_MK2 went fine until reboot and I had no mobile data or cell signal. What did i do wrong? I immediately did a restore from the nandroid backup to return to where was before.

Did you wipe before installing the rom? Just use the slider toggle in wipe. If so, check that the apn is setup correctly.
14th January 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #10  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 708
 
1,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRRies

Ok so I strated with the thread posted. I now have TWRP installed, nandroid backed up and all sorts of zips on my ext card. Also made Kies backups. My first ROM flash, Stockup_MK2 went fine until reboot and I had no mobile data or cell signal. What did i do wrong? I immediately did a restore from the nandroid backup to return to where was before.

In stead of a stcok MK2 rom might I suggest a fairly stock but cleaned up rom like MDOB or any other close to stock rom's

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2280556

Not advocating any one person but he does good stuff and it based on the actual AT&T update to 4.3.. Make sure you do as the guy above me stated and do the simple swipe to wipe in TWRP

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes