Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Please help a slow kid

OP Lucanesti

15th January 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Ok. First of all yes I have tried searching and reading. I never had any problem with my DROID X2 which is all the experience I have. However with all the different base build recover safe strap I'm getting highly confused

I have the Verizon S4. I got it when it was still new. I was able to get Clockwork Recovery installed. I've been using Hyperdrive. Went trying to go from 10.2 to 12 it worked but I have sever issuses. Google account looses all my info. Google search crashes every 10 seconds. S voice wake up cannot be enabled. Samsung Account asks to endlessly update.

I figure I need to update my phone build? I keep reading you lose your recovery? Please help.

Thank you so much for your time as I'm sure it's valuable and I appreciate any you spend helping me.
15th January 2014, 12:42 PM   |  #2  
gnubian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Asheville
Thanks Meter: 110
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucanesti

Ok. First of all yes I have tried searching and reading. I never had any problem with my DROID X2 which is all the experience I have. However with all the different base build recover safe strap I'm getting highly confused

I have the Verizon S4. I got it when it was still new. I was able to get Clockwork Recovery installed. I've been using Hyperdrive. Went trying to go from 10.2 to 12 it worked but I have sever issuses. Google account looses all my info. Google search crashes every 10 seconds. S voice wake up cannot be enabled. Samsung Account asks to endlessly update.

I figure I need to update my phone build? I keep reading you lose your recovery? Please help.

Thank you so much for your time as I'm sure it's valuable and I appreciate any you spend helping me.

Do NOT update your phone build or you will surely regret it. Have you tried wiping and reinstalling hyperdrive? Or re downloading then reinstalling? Or tried a different rom?
The Following User Says Thank You to gnubian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 12:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
So my old phone build that had 4.2 on it can run the newer 4.3 build for hyperdrive?

I verify checksums. Always wipe cache data dalvik
15th January 2014, 12:54 PM   |  #4  
gnubian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Asheville
Thanks Meter: 110
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucanesti

So my old phone build that had 4.2 on it can run the newer 4.3 build for hyperdrive?

I verify checksums. Always wipe cache data dalvik

Yes. You should be able to run any rom for the s4 if you are on the mdk build with a custom recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to gnubian For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 12:55 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 828
 
2,437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucanesti

So my old phone build that had 4.2 on it can run the newer 4.3 build for hyperdrive?

I verify checksums. Always wipe cache data dalvik


you need to do some reading.....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501
15th January 2014, 12:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Wow. I could just flash cwm?
15th January 2014, 02:49 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 828
 
2,437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucanesti

Wow. I could just flash cwm?

If it's mdk...

safestrap enabled, Hyperdrive driven

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes