5,598,610 Members 43,218 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bionic on 4.1.2 not working GSM

Tip us?
 
johnkill_dxb
Old
#1  
johnkill_dxb's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Bionic on 4.1.2 not working GSM

i have 2 pcs bionic... before, they are both 2.3.4, the first one I tried Radiocomm method and it works, with signal on gsm without Data, and also Force Close error when u open network settings..but have signal and can call and send msg..

i read something that if u upate to Jellybean, all band will work no need radiocomm...thats why i update to 4.1.2...

but i\now not working gsm, and can dongrade to GB...

anybody can help me? I am in Philippines...thats why i need it to work in GSM!
 
uhm
Old
(Last edited by uhm; 2nd January 2014 at 06:42 PM.) Reason: Removed the quote
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 73
Join Date: Mar 2011
Did you try the Radiocomm method on Jellybean? It should work based on others' posts in that Bionic on Tmobile thread here on xda.

What is the frequency band your carrier is using? 900/1800 or 850/1900mhz GSM? I'm trying to make it work on 900/1800 band but it's not working for me. I'm on ICS.
 
KSilvas82
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Marcos

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by uhm View Post
Did you try the Radiocomm method on Jellybean? It should work based on others' posts in that Bionic on Tmobile thread here on xda.

What is the frequency band your carrier is using? 900/1800 or 850/1900mhz GSM? I'm trying to make it work on 900/1800 band but it's not working for me. I'm on ICS.

Where can I find the Radiocomm method for Jellybean for here in the U.S.? I have rooted using Easy root method w/Linux emulator, Installed Safestrap to install Patch which supposedly unlocks GSM and I followed the radiocomm edits found here: http :// w ww. internauta37.altervista.org/how-and-patch-fully-enable-gsm-verizon-cdma-phones-android I also did *#*#4635#*#* and it was set to CDMA auto (prl), when I change to CDMA preferred it force closes. Phone says no sim even though active ATT/straight talk sim is in. Thanks for any help.
 
uhm
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 73
Join Date: Mar 2011
Seems like builprop edits haven't been done otherwise in the phoneinfo, you should have seen a mode automatically selected that allows GSM, e.g. WCDMA preferred, GSM Auto(prl) etc. The factory reset is required after the builprop edits.
 
KSilvas82
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Marcos

 
DONATE TO ME
got it, thanks a lot for the help! Running At&t Straight talk. Calling/Texting works, I'm assuming I don't have data though as I don't see any 3G or other data indicators in the status bar. Is there something else that needs to be done to get data going?
 
johnkill_dxb
Old
(Last edited by johnkill_dxb; 5th January 2014 at 04:14 AM.)
#6  
johnkill_dxb's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Mar 2012
my bionic is now working on GSM in philippines using this metohd:



Quote:
Here are the steps that I performed to get my Jelly Bean working.

1. Make sure you are running factory OS. I am running 98.72.22.XT875 It's the latest Jelly Bean 4.1.2 release.

2. Root your phone. I used Easy Root http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2256439 Just follow the instructions, it's very easy.

3. After it's rooted download ES File Explorer File Manager and Root Browser from the Play Store. Both are free.

4. Go into File Explorer. Tap the blue icon on top left then go to Tools. Turn on Root Explorer. It will ask you for a superuser access, you have to grant it.

5. Go into Root Browser. It too will ask for a superuser access. You have to grant it as well. Install updates if it asks you to.

6. In Root Browser navigate to system/bin. Find mount_ext3.sh file. Tap and hold the screen to bring up the menu. Select Open with... and choose RB Text Editor. Scroll to the end of the file. After the last line leave a blank line then add the following lines.

chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
chmod 4755 /system/app/Superuser.apk

Tap the save icon at the top of the screen when finished.

7. Using Root Browser rename your original build.prop file (It's located in /system folder).

8. Copy build.prop file from your PC onto the SD card and then copy it into the /system folder on the phone replacing the original. I used build.prop file below. It was posted earlier in this thread.


HTML Code:

# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=9.8.2O-72_VZW-22
ro.build.display.id=9.8.2O-72_VZW-22
ro.build.version.incremental=39
ro.build.version.sdk=16
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.version.release=4.1.2
ro.build.date=Fri Mar 8 14:50:18 CST 2013
ro.build.date.utc=1362775818
ro.build.type=user
ro.build.user=hudsoncm
ro.build.host=il93lnxdroid48
ro.build.tags=release-keys
ro.product.model=DROID BIONIC
ro.product.brand=motorola
ro.product.name=XT875_verizon
ro.product.device=cdma_targa
ro.product.board=targa
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a
ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=motorola
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=US
ro.wifi.channels=
ro.board.platform=omap4
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=cdma_targa
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=cdma_targa_mmi-user 4.1.2 9.8.2O-72_VZW-22 39 release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=motorola/XT875_verizon/cdma_targa:4.1.2/9.8.2O-72_VZW-22/39:user/release-keys
ro.build.characteristics=default
# end build properties
#
# system.prop for CDMA Droidwe
#
# rild.libpath=/system/lib/libril-moto-umts-1.so
rild.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
rild.libargs=-d /dev/ttyO0
ro.sf.lcd_density=240
ro.mot.ril.danlist=611,*611,#611
persist.ril.ecclist=911,*911,#911
persist.ril.modem.mode =1
# This defines the max event window manager can
# handle in 1 s. We may adjust this # for performance
# reason later
windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=70

# USB modes allowed for UI and switching
ro.ngp_available=1
ro.modem_available=0

# Default network type.
# 4 => CDMA/EVDO. To be used until Targa has LTE SFN
# 7 => GLOBAL.
ro.telephony.default_network=0
ro.com.google.clientid=android-motorola
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/basic/privacy.html
ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310004
ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Verizon
ro.config.vc_call_vol_steps=7

# wlan interface
wifi.interface = wlan0
softap.interface = wlan1

# Time between scans in seconds. Keep it high to minimize battery drain.
# This only affects the case in which there are remembered access points,
# but none are in range.
wifi.supplicant_scan_interval = 90

# Indicate carrier OTA SP number schema
# refer to frameworks/base/telephony/java/com/android/
# internal/telephony/cdma/CDMAPhone.java for the schema:
ro.cdma.otaspnumschema=SELC,1,80,99

# The OpenGL ES API level that is natively supported by this device.
# This is a 16.16 fixed point number
ro.opengles.version = 131072

# our HTML browser (not WAP browser ) does not need to specify UAProf URL
ro.mot.hw.uaprof=http://uaprof.vtext.com/mot/xt875/xt875.xml

# Enable HAC to also display Call Setting Menu Option.
ro.mot.hw.HAC=1
# Motorola, a19622, 12/28/2009, IKSHADOW-204 / Location Settings for android
# Property to set enabling state of the location privacy setting feature.
# Motorola, a19622, 03/16/2010, IKSHADOW-2141 / Disable feature 33067
#ro.mot.settings.locprivacy=1
# ERI feature
# 0 OFF
# 1 ON
ro.mot.eri=0

# Motorol,a6889c,02/Feb/2010,IKSHADOW-619
# Proximity Sensor feature
# 0 disable
# 1 enable
persist.mot.proximity.touch=1
# End IKSHADOW-619

# BEGIN Motorola, a22976, 25-Feb-2010, IKSHADOW-702, FID 31841
# VZW Requirement Specifications: NETWORK BASED PLUS CODE DIALING
# 0 disable
# 1 enable
ro.cdma.nbpcd=0
# END IKSHADOW-702

# BEGIN Motorola, a22976, 12-Mar-2010, IKSHADOW-1784, Power Up Tone
# Motorola, a22976, 12-Apr-2010, IKSHADOW-3298, Remove temporary power up tone
# persist.mot.powerup.tone=/system/media/bootup.ogg
# END IKSHADOW-1784
persist.mot.usb.mediasync = 1
# persist.usb.android_config = 1

# System property for SMC
ro.service.start.smc=1
ro.HorizontalBUA=true
#Proximity sensor debounce time
mot.proximity.delay=150
# disable touch below 60 pixels
mot.proximity.distance=60

#inphone calibration backup support
ro.mot.hw.calibratedImager=1

# BEGIN Motorola, qpmc46, 05-Jul-2010, IKMAIN-311
persist.ril.mux.noofchannels = 8
# END Motorola, qpmc46, 05-Jul-2010, IKMAIN-311

#BEGIN Motorola, nfjb73, 21-jun-2010,
# this is for feature 34386, other features for vzw global phone
# could use this property too. IKMAIN-732
#1 this is verizon wireless globle phone
#0 this is not verizon wireless globle phone
ro.mot.phonemode.vzwglobalphone=0
# END Motorola, nfjb73, 21-jun-2010, IKMAIN-732

# BEGIN Motorola, nfjb73 23-jun-2010, IKMAIN-624
# this is for feature 33860, when phone is activated, the cdma mdn is written.
persist.radio.vzw.cdma.mdn=
# END Motorola, nfjb73

# BEGIN Motorola, qmfd78, 14-Jul-2010, IKMAIN-884
# GSM SMS traffic needs to be routed/sent through North America SMSC.
# This is part of the VZW World-phone Feature. SMS are always sent to a US SMSC and then injected
# into that network. This allows for billing and give the user the impression that the device is
# still in the US.
ro.telephony.gsm-routes-us-smsc = 1
# END Motorola, qmfd78, 14-Jul-2010, IKMAIN-884

# BEGIN Motorola, a22600 qmfd78, 16-Jul-2010, IKDROIDPRO-423
# For north american cdma operators, this flag should be 1.
# It enables number mangling when nbpcd (plus code dialing) is not supported.
# This is part of the VZW World-phone Feature.
ro.cdma.home.operator.isnan=0
# END Motorola, a22600 qmfd78, 16-Jul-2010, IKDROIDPRO-423

# EDM feature - IKDROIDPRO-381 - Start
ro.mot.dpmext = true
# EDM feature - IKDROIDPRO-381 -End

# BEGIN Moto,IKDROIDPRO-430, a17673
# Feature33857 on DroidWE, support DualMode switch, UMTS/CDMA
##### Override in cdma_targa.mk until LTE + Global support. ######
#ro.mot.FTR.33857=true
# END IKDROIDPRO-430

# This is necessary for framework to support
# the LTE and eHRPD capability.
##### Override in cdma_targa.mk until LTE + Global support. ######
#ro.mot.lte_on_cdma=1

# BEGIN Moto, IKSTABLETWO-1284, nfjb73
# without this property, the lock screen would take global phone as UMTS
# block user to operate before setup
keyguard.no_require_sim = true
# End Moto

# BEGIN Moto, IKSTABLETWO-689, nfjb73, for 34387,33857
# when phone in Global mode, FW need to know the last phone mode beore power off
# when phone power up, it would use the right mode to avoid switch
persist.radio.ap.phonetype=1
# END IKSTABLETWO-689

# Multimode RIL Paths
##### Override in cdma_targa.mk until LTE + Global support. ######
#lte_ril.libpath=/system/lib/lib-mot-lte-ril.so
#cdma_ril.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
#ril.rat=LTE

# Motorola, IKHALFMWK-3, w001091
# Feature 32711, deep sleep mode support
ro.mot.deep.sleep.supported=true

# BEGIN Motorola, A24124, 10-June-2011,IKTARGA-1744
ro.mot.bindervm.config = 251
# END IKTARGA-1744

# Give extra time for LTE bug dumps
ril.dumpstate.timeout=60

# make voice call, data call on targa
telephony.lteOnCdmaDevice=0

# BEGIN Motorola abp095, 4-Jan-2012, IKHSS7-2427 - Thumbnail property change
com.motorola.cg.lowres=1
com.motorola.cg.tnWidth=160
com.motorola.cg.tnHeight=160
com.motorola.cg.tndisplay=1
# END IKHSS7-2427

# BEGIN Motorola, w21549, 06/06/2012, IKHSS6UPGR-12234
ro.hdcp.support=2
# END IKHSS6UPGR-12234

# system prop for requesting Master role in incoming Bluetooth connection.
#
ro.bluetooth.request.master=true
#
# system prop for Bluetooth Auto connect for remote initated connections
#
ro.bluetooth.remote.autoconnect=true

# System Properties for enabling individula Bluetooth Profiles
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.opp=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.hfp=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.hsp=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.pbap=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.ftp=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.map=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.nap=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.sap=true
ro.qualcomm.bluetooth.dun=true
ro.mot.btdun.disable = false
#

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-motorola
ro.com.google.clientidbase.ms=android-verizon
ro.com.google.clientidbase.am=android-verizon
ro.com.google.clientidbase.yt=android-verizon
ro.com.google.clientidbase.gmm=android-motorola
persist.sys.usb.config=mass_storage
ro.kernel.android.ril=yes
persist.ril.mux.noofchannels=10
persist.ril.mux.ttydevice=/dev/ttyO0
persist.ril.modem.ttydevice=/dev/ttyUSB4
persist.ril.tcmd.ttydevice=/dev/usb/tty2-1:1.3
persist.ril.diag.ttydevice=/dev/usb/tty2-1:1.0
persist.ril.features=0x90A
persist.ril.mux.retries=500
persist.ril.mux.sleep=2
persist.ril.rssi.enable.param6=1
ril.wrigley.modem.tty=/dev/usb/tty1-2:1.10
persist.radio.lte.mm.disable=1
rild.libpath=/system/lib/moto-ril-multimode.so
gsm.sim.mot.simswap=1
ro.config.ringtone=DroidInvasion.ogg
ro.config.notification_sound=Droid.ogg
ro.mot.build.customerid=verizon
ro.mot.build.version.sdk_int=9
ro.mot.build.product.increment=2
ro.mot.build.version.release=9.2
ro.build.version.full=Blur_Version.98.72.22.XT875. Verizon.en.US
ro.mot.hw.HAC=1
ro.setupwizard.mode=OPTIONAL
ro.com.google.gmsversion=4.1_r4
ro.HorizontalBUA=true
ro.HorizontalVVM=true
ro.horizontalNGM=false
ro.horizontalVMM=false
ro.horizontalMOD=false
ro.horizontalVOD=false
ro.horizontalEmail=false
ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=310004
ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Verizon
ro.cdma.homesystem=64,65,76,77,78,79,80,81,82,83
ro.mot.eri=0
ro.cdma.nbpcd=0
ro.cdma.home.operator.isnan=0
ro.mot.ignore_csim_appid=true
ro.telephony.gsm-routes-us-smsc=1
ro.cdma.otaspnumschema=SELC,1,80,99
ro.mot.phonemode.vzw4gphone=0
ro.com.android.dataroaming=true
ro.bug2go.uid.type=TELEPHONY_DEVICE_ID
ro.bug2go.magickeys=24,26
ro.carrier=unknown
ro.config.alarm_alert=Alarm_Classic.ogg
dalvik.vm.heapsize=128m
dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=8m
dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=64m
ro.cdma.subscription=0
ro.telephony.default_network=0
lte_ril.libpath=/system/lib/lib-mot-lte-ril.so
cdma_ril.libpath=/system/lib/libmoto_ril.so
ril.rat=GSM
lte_ril.netcfg_to=90
ro.telephony.ril.v3=signalstrength
ro.telephony.call_ring.multiple=false
ro.cdma.data_retry_config=max_retries=infinite,0,0 ,10000,10000,100000,10000,10000,10000,10000,140000 ,540000,960000
ro.gsm.data_retry_config=default_randomization=200 0,max_retries=infinite,0,0,80000,125000,485000,905 000
ro.gsm.2nd_data_retry_config=max_retries=infinite, default_randomization=2000,0,0,80000,125000,485000 ,905000
ro.mot.setuptype=2
ro.horizontalIM=true
ro.ril.svlte1x=true
ro.media.camcorder.1080p=mp4,h264,30,15000000,aac, 128000,44100,2
ro.media.camcorder.720p=mp4,h264,30,10000000,aac,1 28000,44100,2
ro.media.camcorder.d1NTSC=mp4,h264,30,6000000,aac, 128000,44100,2
ro.media.camcorder.vga=mp4,h264,30,4000000,aac,128 000,44100,2
ro.media.camcorder.cif=mp4,h264,30,1500000,aac,128 000,44100,2
ro.media.camcorder.qvga=mp4,h264,15,500000,aac,640 00,44100,2
ro.media.camcorder.mms=3gp,h264,15,128000,amrnb,12 200,8000,1
ro.media.camcorder.mmsres=qvga
ro.camcorder.zoom=true
ro.media.capture.maxres=5m
ro.media.capture.fast.fps=4
ro.media.capture.slow.fps=120
ro.media.capture.flash=led
ro.media.capture.flashMinV=3300000
ro.media.capture.torchIntensity=40
ro.media.capture.flashIntensity=70
ro.media.capture.classification=classF
ro.media.panorama.defres=3264x1840
ro.media.panorama.frameres=1280x720
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.media.enc.aud.fileformat=qcp
ro.media.enc.aud.codec=qcelp
ro.media.enc.aud.bps=13300
ro.media.enc.aud.ch=1
ro.media.enc.aud.hz=8000
persist.service.aplogd.enable=1
ro.mot.lte_on_cdma=0
ro.mot.tmp.telephony.refactor=true
ro.hss6upgrade.hide.motocastid=TRUE
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
drm.service.enabled=true

9. This step is important so don't skip it!!! If permissions aren't set correctly your phone won't boot and you will need to reload the OS and start from scratch. In Root Browser tap and hold build.prop file. On a menu that pops up select permissions. Make sure that permissions are set to 0644. Read access should be checked for Owner, Group, Others. Write access should be checked for Owner. Excuse access should be unchecked for all.

10. Make sure your phone's USB setting is set for anything except Mass Storage.
Now on your PC run Radio Comm. I use version 11.12.2.
Go to Main - MA - CDMA1X - QSC60 x 5 Chipset base.
Then click on FTM Common 1 tab.
Under NVAccess drop down box find 1877, NV_RF_BC_CONFIG_I.
Then Click on Read. Read button should be green. If it's Red your phone is not communicating properly with your PC and it won't work.
In the Data: (Hex) field just below NVAccess drop down box you will see a bunch of numbers. Delete first 16 characters and replace them with 8703E804000200
Then click on Write. That should turn green as well.

11. Now power off your phone and power it back on. At this point after the phone rebooted I got com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly.

12. Now power the phone off again. I had to pull the battery. Go into the recovery mode and wipe cache partition as well as wipe data/factory reset. Then reboot the device.

At this point it should boot up normally. You may still get com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly but you can tap ok and it will load normally.

After this you will need to root your phone again. Download ES Explorer and Root Browser and delete STK.apk, STK.odex, VzwPhoneService.apk, VzwPhoneService.odex (All 4 are under /system/apps folder). This step is only required to get rid of the annoying SIM car unrecognized warning.



So far the only issue that I am seeing is poor signal strength. I see 2-3 bars. Perhaps someone has a fix for this?
My only problem is VERY VERY Low Signal
The Following User Says Thank You to johnkill_dxb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KSilvas82
Old
(Last edited by KSilvas82; 6th January 2014 at 12:39 AM.) Reason: correction of previous observations/statements.
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: San Marcos

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnkill_dxb View Post
my bionic is now working on GSM in philippines using this metohd:





My only problem is VERY VERY Low Signal
I'm in the U.S. but am also experiencing very low signal. I have 3G going but can't get reception to hold more than one bar if anything. Seems to be the common story with this hack. I'll stay posted to check for any radiocomm edits/work arounds for signal improvement

***UPDATE*** I left my house for the first time today since getting my phone going on GSM w/AT&T StraightTalk and I had 4 bars of reception and full 3g downloads and full messaging capabilities. I'm satisfied with the results and I think any difference in signal strength may come from having been spoiled on Verizon's coverage, even though I never got good reception at my house with verizon either so I guess I can't expect more from someone else.
 
uhm
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 73
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnkill_dxb View Post
my bionic is now working on GSM in philippines using this metohd:
My only problem is VERY VERY Low Signal
Good to hear that it's working for you. What is the frequency band your carrier is using? 900/1800 or 850/1900mhz GSM?
 
johnkill_dxb
Old
#9  
johnkill_dxb's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Mar 2012
900/1800mhz is the freq here in philippines

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...