Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,554 Members 36,376 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

mod to allow addition of apn on mean bean reborn?

Tip us?
 
banshee2008
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default mod to allow addition of apn on mean bean reborn?

I am running mean bean reborn .3
I am looking for a mod that will allow me to add an apn for global roaming.

What is the recommended way?
 
banshee2008
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by banshee2008 View Post
I am running mean bean reborn .3
I am looking for a mod that will allow me to add an apn for global roaming.

What is the recommended way?
Any comments? Do I need to use "APN Switch" or similar app?
 
banshee2008
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by banshee2008 View Post
I am running mean bean reborn .3
I am looking for a mod that will allow me to add an apn for global roaming.

What is the recommended way?
I also found this reference to a flashable mod to enable apn editing (see post #2):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2044449

Will that work with MeanBean Reborn? Anyone had success?
 
jcollier
Old
#4  
jcollier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 456
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Having not used that rom, can you not go to Settings -> More Settings ->Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names -> Click on the Plus?

Works on several of the roms I have tried.
 
banshee2008
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcollier View Post
Having not used that rom, can you not go to Settings -> More Settings ->Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names -> Click on the Plus?

Works on several of the roms I have tried.
No, unfortunately...like the stock software, the "+" is greyed out. Not sure why Verizon thinks it makes sense to allow voice roaming but disallow use of data roaming.
 
jcollier
Old
#6  
jcollier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 456
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by banshee2008 View Post
No, unfortunately...like the stock software, the "+" is greyed out. Not sure why Verizon thinks it makes sense to allow voice roaming but disallow use of data roaming.
With the 4.1.2 update Verizon starting allowing the capability of changing the APN after a non-Verizon sim was inserted.
The Following User Says Thank You to jcollier For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
banshee2008
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcollier View Post
With the 4.1.2 update Verizon starting allowing the capability of changing the APN after a non-Verizon sim was inserted.
Ah, that is what I was missing. Thanks!
 
jcollier
Old
#8  
jcollier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 456
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by banshee2008 View Post
Ah, that is what I was missing. Thanks!
No problem!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Moto G 4G Receives Official CyanogenMod 11 Love

When theMoto Gwas initially released to the world in November of last year,very few actually … more

Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more