Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,690 Members 47,620 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

boot loop, formatting didn't fix it V GS3

Tip us?
 
Silvus
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default boot loop, formatting didn't fix it V GS3

I had Cleanrom on my phone, aparently it didn't block the OTA update download.. I got a message saying"when would you like to install the update. I told it tomorrow, and promptly wiped the phone and installed Moar. Moar installs fine, runs nice until i reboot. Upon reboot it goes into a boot loop.

I tried formatting/wiping everything it gives you the option to I think in recovery, and reinstalled. still bootlooped after first usage. I'm not a complete nub, but I am feeling like one atm. some help please
 
twistedillutions
Old
#2  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,753
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 209
since your in a bootloop..try factory reset and install a backup file that was working fine if that works . do another factory reset format data clean install the rom and gapps the 1st boot takes a while ...it could be a bad flash or bad file ..redownload it and re flash it ..once u get into your fone do the following to stop the OTA if u did not take it



this how u disable /freeze the OTA 4.3 update
Rename or freeze the apps with Titanium backup:
otacerts.zip located in /etc/security - rename to otacerts.zip.bak
Rename fwupdate.odex, fwupdate.apk located in /system/app
and freeze SDM1.0 located in /system/app
AWESOME POSSOM
The Following User Says Thank You to twistedillutions For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Silvus
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thanks, it is in work. When I try and factory reset or format system, it looks like it is starting to do it and then it reboot in recovery... wtf
 
Silvus
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
I tried installing the rom over top of it anyway, it bootlooped out the gate. I got it back into recovery and was able to format/wipe everything without weird reboots. its booting up now, I'll do the download and freeze act and give another update to let you know how things turn out.
 
twistedillutions
Old
#5  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,753
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 209
Ok if you do get back in .. try updating your recovery .
AWESOME POSSOM
 
Silvus
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
It worked and is working like a champ, thanks so much
 
twistedillutions
Old
#7  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,753
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: 209
Welcome
AWESOME POSSOM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Make Your Own DIY Capacitive Stylus

The XDA Portal is a place where we like to talkabout things that are interesting, fun, and sometimes … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more