Unofficial CM12 for Android One, Disabling Encryption on Nexus 6 – XDA TV

Android One devices have received an Unofficial CyanogenMod … more

Pushbullet Universal Copy/Paste Availabe for Linux, Mac OS X

Pushbullet is one of those useful utilities that once installed, permanently … more

Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

boot loop, formatting didn't fix it V GS3

OP Silvus

16th January 2014, 05:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I had Cleanrom on my phone, aparently it didn't block the OTA update download.. I got a message saying"when would you like to install the update. I told it tomorrow, and promptly wiped the phone and installed Moar. Moar installs fine, runs nice until i reboot. Upon reboot it goes into a boot loop.

I tried formatting/wiping everything it gives you the option to I think in recovery, and reinstalled. still bootlooped after first usage. I'm not a complete nub, but I am feeling like one atm. some help please
16th January 2014, 05:17 PM   |  #2  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 263
 
2,250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
since your in a bootloop..try factory reset and install a backup file that was working fine if that works . do another factory reset format data clean install the rom and gapps the 1st boot takes a while ...it could be a bad flash or bad file ..redownload it and re flash it ..once u get into your fone do the following to stop the OTA if u did not take it



this how u disable /freeze the OTA 4.3 update
Rename or freeze the apps with Titanium backup:
otacerts.zip located in /etc/security - rename to otacerts.zip.bak
Rename fwupdate.odex, fwupdate.apk located in /system/app
and freeze SDM1.0 located in /system/app
The Following User Says Thank You to twistedillutions For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Thanks, it is in work. When I try and factory reset or format system, it looks like it is starting to do it and then it reboot in recovery... wtf
16th January 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I tried installing the rom over top of it anyway, it bootlooped out the gate. I got it back into recovery and was able to format/wipe everything without weird reboots. its booting up now, I'll do the download and freeze act and give another update to let you know how things turn out.
16th January 2014, 07:19 PM   |  #5  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 263
 
2,250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Ok if you do get back in .. try updating your recovery .
17th January 2014, 02:04 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
It worked and is working like a champ, thanks so much
17th January 2014, 03:28 AM   |  #7  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 263
 
2,250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Welcome

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes