Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,180 Members 47,555 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need serious help fast

Tip us?
 
Camoxjeep
Old
#1  
Camoxjeep's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Need serious help fast

Running twrp rooted stock rom on verizon. Everythings been fine since Ive had this which has been around a month. All of a sudden my phone restarts by itself and goes into recovery. I tried to restart and it just stays in recovery mode. I only have about 8% battery left now and have no clue what to do. Just plugged my phone in and I cant tell if its actually recharging. Anyone know what to do? Ive tried a restore and its still stuck in recovery. V2.6.3.3 any help is very much appreciated. thanks
 
Jank4AU
Old
#2  
Jank4AU's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1587
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weaver

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camoxjeep View Post
Running twrp rooted stock rom on verizon. Everythings been fine since Ive had this which has been around a month. All of a sudden my phone restarts by itself and goes into recovery. I tried to restart and it just stays in recovery mode. I only have about 8% battery left now and have no clue what to do. Just plugged my phone in and I cant tell if its actually recharging. Anyone know what to do? Ive tried a restore and its still stuck in recovery. V2.6.3.3 any help is very much appreciated. thanks
Flash a new ROM... hopefully you have the zip of the one you are currently using?

Sent from my LG-G2 using Tapatalk


ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.4+ 2014-06-29
AT&T LG G2 - D800
TWRP 2.7.0.0
 
Camoxjeep
Old
#3  
Camoxjeep's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jank4AU View Post
Flash a new ROM... hopefully you have the zip of the one you are currently using?

Sent from my LG-G2 using Tapatalk
How do I do that? its the stock rom. I never loaded one a different one.
 
Jank4AU
Old
#4  
Jank4AU's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1587
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weaver

 
DONATE TO ME
Oh, I thought you were just using one of the stock ROM's from xda... not the actual one that came with the phone. However, you can try to push a new one to your phone with adb and flash that. Do you still have the recovery zip? Maybe recovery just went bad and you can reflash it...?

Sent from my LG-G2 using Tapatalk


ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.4+ 2014-06-29
AT&T LG G2 - D800
TWRP 2.7.0.0
 
Camoxjeep
Old
#5  
Camoxjeep's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jank4AU View Post
Oh, I thought you were just using one of the stock ROM's from xda... not the actual one that came with the phone. However, you can try to push a new one to your phone with adb and flash that. Do you still have the recovery zip? Maybe recovery just went bad and you can reflash it...?

Sent from my LG-G2 using Tapatalk
any links how to do that with adb? Been out of the loop with flashing and came from a motorola phone so LG way is way different. thanks
 
Jank4AU
Old
#6  
Jank4AU's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1587
Posts: 2,895
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Weaver

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camoxjeep View Post
any links how to do that with adb? Been out of the loop with flashing and came from a motorola phone so LG way is way different. thanks
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2371634

Here's one thread. You should Google it for other I instructions but there are tons of them. Also try to find the adb and/or SDK download files.

Sent from my LG-G2 using Tapatalk


ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.4+ 2014-06-29
AT&T LG G2 - D800
TWRP 2.7.0.0
 
Camoxjeep
Old
(Last edited by Camoxjeep; 17th January 2014 at 04:13 AM.)
#7  
Camoxjeep's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jul 2012
OK, still working on this. Dont have but a few hours here and there to get this running again. Been to tons of pages reading, reading and more reading. Downloaded and installed SDK manager. I guess it also installs ADB. I found it within the SKD Platform-tools folder but when I click on it all it does is open, goes thru a ton of commands then closes. I also found it in C:ADB folder. Does the same thing. Doesnt stay open so I can type anything in it? Ive got flashtool installed also. I cant get into download mode on my phone either.

Also trying to go this route LG G2 Stock Firmware (Go Back to Stock) in General section but dont know exactly which file to download. Right now downloading the VS98010B_13 file. Probably need the VS98011A_01 but man it takes an hour to download. Which one do I use? Also dont know if I have the D800 or D802? My box says LG-VS980. Dont know if that matters. But again I dont think I can use this method as I cant get into download mode.

I do download the KDZ files and not the TOT files right?

Any other help would be greatly appreciated. thanks
 
truckroot
Old
(Last edited by truckroot; 17th January 2014 at 04:31 AM.)
#8  
truckroot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 144
Join Date: Jan 2011
Try the return to stock method with the vs98010b file first. Sounds like ur phone took an OTA hence the recovery bootloop. If u can get back to stock I'd root right away and stop any of the OTAs. U can just flash the 12B ROM and radios after installing a recovery.

Don't flash or use any files for d800 or d802, Verizon model is vs980.

Sent from Verizon logo plastered G2 bastard
 
Camoxjeep
Old
#9  
Camoxjeep's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jul 2012
OK, kept googling different things and kept reading pages from here and ran across this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451696 [FIX] Installed TWRP and now you're stuck after OTA under G2 Android Development. Man, that fixed it and wish I wouldnt have flashed that backup I had now, took me back a month where Ive changed a few things on my phone since but I do have my phone back. Still would like to know which file to download so I have it down the road.
 
RubbleTea
Old
#10  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 156
Posts: 634
Join Date: May 2013
If your in twrp have you tried to aideload a ROM then see if it flashes? Just need adb installed on PC and setup, drivers installed and ROM on hand.....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more

Street Panorama Combines Google Maps and Street View into One App

Google Maps is a must have application forevery amateur world explorer. … more

XDA Behind the Scenes, Part 3

This is the last part of a series of articles that reveals some of the processes, technology, and systems that … more