Post Reply

[Q] Flashed an OTA and now I can't boot

OP AlexRamallo

17th January 2014, 05:05 AM   |  #1  
AlexRamallo's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 5
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
I got an OTA update notification a few days back, and without thinking I decided to install it. Stupid decision. I was on a custom rom AND a custom recovery (TWRP). Now, whenever I turn on my phone it will just take me to TWRP recovery. Even if I flash a rom like AOKP or CM, the install will say "successful", but it will still go to recovery instead of the actual operating system when I power on the phone.

My guess is it has something to do with the bootloader, but I'm not too familiar with the way Android devices bootup and whatnot. This is on a D801 (T-Mobile version), and I was running a stock rooted rom with TWRP recovery installed. I'm posting here instead of the T-Mobile subforum because I don't think it's an issue unique to my model.

Since I can load up TWRP just fine, I don't think it should be too catastrophic of an issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
17th January 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #2  
RubbleTea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los angeles
Thanks Meter: 171
 
677 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexRamallo

I got an OTA update notification a few days back, and without thinking I decided to install it. Stupid decision. I was on a custom rom AND a custom recovery (TWRP). Now, whenever I turn on my phone it will just take me to TWRP recovery. Even if I flash a rom like AOKP or CM, the install will say "successful", but it will still go to recovery instead of the actual operating system when I power on the phone.

My guess is it has something to do with the bootloader, but I'm not too familiar with the way Android devices bootup and whatnot. This is on a D801 (T-Mobile version), and I was running a stock rooted rom with TWRP recovery installed. I'm posting here instead of the T-Mobile subforum because I don't think it's an issue unique to my model.

Since I can load up TWRP just fine, I don't think it should be too catastrophic of an issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

This might help;

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2451696
The Following User Says Thank You to RubbleTea For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank